Monday, March 28, 2011

Oh, and here's another picture of Baby-Bean!

Just because it feels wrong to post anything without including a picture of her! ;)

The trouble with video cameras...

...is that I'm a total space cadet when it comes to operating them!

Kennedy finally rolled again today (she's been getting closer and closer everyday since I started imposing tummy time boot camp) -- so excited! It was just front to back, but it was the opposite way of the other times that she's rolled, so that's something!

Anyhoo...after she rolled the first time, I grabbed the video camera, plopped her back onto her stomach and encouraged her to try again...but of course, she was tired and frustrated with the whole exercise by this point, so the video is just pure torture...must remember to delete that one!

I spent some time snuggling with her and playing and then decided to try for another bout of tummy time. This time, I was ready with the camera. It looked like she was thinking about rolling, so I pressed the record button. Sure enough, she rolled! After lots of cheering from Jackie and I (okay, it was just me cheering...Jackie was sulking because I yelled at her to get off Kennedy's blanked because she decided that this was a good time to lay down right beside her blocking Kennedy from rolling). I zoomed in for a smile from Kennedy and pressed the record button again to stop the recording. But it STARTED recording at that time. Are you freaking kidding me!? Did I miss it, after all that!? Stupid me and my inability to operate electronics.

Of course, I tried again, but as before, she was too tired...and any further efforts resulted in near tears from Baby-Bean because it was getting too close to bedtime.

So the recording of her rolling will have to wait yet another day...sorry! :)

One thing I can post though, is the pictures of the piece furniture that I was working on! It's just a plain ole Ikea bookshelf, but I had to paint it white (because Ikeas version of "white" beige like rotten teeth!). I also put some of the stickers on it to match the canvasses that I had made for the wall (sounds tacky, but I don't think it is). It goes really well in the room.







The crazy monkey and pea pod seem to enjoy their new home!

Saturday, March 26, 2011

What the what!?

Two posts in one day!? Could it be!?

Well, I'm sitting here with the dog (Prof-Man is at hockey and Baby-Bean is in bed)...and I've got a few minutes before the 3rd Twilight movie comes on the movie channel (still haven't seen this one...yes I'm a loser for loving Twilight...but I don't care...I can't help it!), so I figured I'd pull the latest pictures of the camera and share a few!

Here she is looking cute...



...reading a book...





...ha ha ha...



....hello cutest toosh ever!



Just hanging out (in the few seconds before she loses her schmidt because she's having tummy time!)...



...again, just lookin' cute...



Her new thing: lounging with her arms behind her head while I change her diaper!?



Okay...gotta run...movie's on! ;)

Where does the time go?

I'm going to start leaving my laptop out so that I am constantly reminded that I should be updating the blog...I think that's the only way I'll commit. At this point, I'm playing the "out of sight, out of mind" game. Which is silly, because I really want to have as many details logged as possible...so I'm doing myself a huge disservice by being so stinkin' lazy with the updates!

Anyhoo...

Kennedy is currently staring at me from her neglectomatic...errr...mommaroo! I'm not actually neglecting her...she's supposed to be napping, and just woke up...so I'm giving her a chance to fall back asleep before I get her out (less than 20 minutes does NOT count as a nap!).

She's now over 4 months!? Craziness. She hasn't really achieved any new milestones...she's better with her hand-eye coordination, but still a huge hater of tummy time (and therefore hasn't really done any more rolling etc.). I'm trying not to stress too much about it. I feel like Bella Koroli (i.e. the super strict Romanian gymnastics coach) imposing a strict tummy-time training regiment! :) You're never going to make the rolling over Olympics if you keep this up Kennedy! What? There are no "rolling over Olympics"? Hmmm...maybe I should relax a little...I mean it's not like she's going to be in her twenties and fall down on her back and start flailing about like a beetle/turtle because she's still incapable of rolling over!? She'll figure it out when she's good and ready (or she'll have to hire someone to flip her over whenever necessary as an adult!?).

Here's a picture of her on her 4 month birthday...


And, because I've started with the painful process that is uploading pictures, here are some more pictures of Baby-Bean!







I know I'm her mom, so I'm supposed to say things like this...but seriously, is this girl not the cutest freakin' thing you've ever seen!? :) Prof-Man and I are pretty smitten!



Since she's now 4 months old, she's old enough to try out her Jenny Jump Up (a girly version of the Jolly Jumper)...she hasn't really figured out how to jump in it, but seems pretty interested in the ability to turn herself around to see what's going on!





Have I mentioned the crazy amounts of drooling she's been doing? Whoops -- caught some on camera!



Here she is looking a little less like a blob in her infant seat...I hate to say it, but our gorgeous little future softball player and/or speed skater has some seriously thunderous thighs! She has to be wedged into this seat and when we pick her up to take her out, the seat usually comes with her! Makes for a less than ideal situation...Kennedy is not a fan of the Bumbo...which is fine, because I've heard that it delays their ability to sit up unassisted...so we'll make life work without the seat (though I'm going to keep trying, because if she ever gets used to it and/or her thinghs get a little smaller, it would be a very convenient seat for when mommy is making dinner).



Enjoying a few toys (EVERYTHING she can grab goes in her mouth now...preferably several toys at once).



A couple of random pictures...



...for which I have no comments...(Kennedy raises an eyebrow "Really mom, you have nothing to say about the look on my face in this next picture?")...



Kennedy and her daddy hanging out in their Canucks shirts...



Who's the cutest baby in the world!?

Thursday, March 17, 2011

Oy ve!

Ugh, I'm a terd. Sorry.

I really have been meaning to post more...and get the pictures and videos uploaded...but I haven't. No excuses...just spending lots of time playing with Baby-Bean...and watching her while she sleeps (either that, or snoozing while she sleeps!).

She had her 4-month birthday on Tuesday and we had a huge celebration with cake and balloons! I'm kidding -- nothing exciting (well, except for a visit from Grannie and Grandpa). Today she had her 4-month immunizations...followed by a fairly rough day. No fever (thankfully), but she was in quite a bit of pain and spent much of the day wailing and/or wimpering. Poor thing. She's sleeping now though. Hopefully she feels better tomorrow.

Okay, I'm not on the right computer to upload pictures or anything...and the camera is in her room...so that's all I've got for now. This is getting pretty bad...I'm not witty AND I'm not posting baby pictures...what's the point!? :) I really am going to re-dedicate myself soon...I owe to to myself and to Kennedy (the whole point of this exercise is to have a record of everything!).

Tuesday, March 8, 2011

Exquisite Sleep

Blog? What blog? Err...did I was I was "back" last entry? And was that a couple of weeks ago? Hmmm...sorry about that!?

Not sure where the time has gone...days pass by in a blur these days! I've been distracted with taxes, RRSPs, painting a new piece of furniture for Kennedy's room...and napping! :)

Until last night, Kennedy had been stuck in "growth spurt" mode...where she would wake up at least once after her late night feed...in the middle of the night...making for a tired mommy. I realize that I should count myself lucky that I'm not one of the moms that have to get up every couple of hours all night...but when Kennedy started sleeping through the night at 8 or 9 weeks, I was thoroughly perturbed when she suddenly stopped a few weeks ago (when we moved her to her crib -- coincidence? I'm not sure...).

Anyways, last night she slept 9 hours straight. So exquisite. Woke up at 7:30 to Prof-Man's alarm -- NOT to Kennedy asking for food! She woke up at 8am...and I'm not sure if it was because she heard waking noises or not (she wasn't shrieking for food or anything when she woke up...she was just smiling and cooing).

For the last few weeks we've been working on a nighttime schedule...which has resulted in Kennedy going to bed at 8pm. Works great. No more crying at bedtime (well, other than the odd frustrated spurt when mommy foolishly takes too long to burp her!). I then wake her up for some food at 11pm (late night feeding). She then sleeps until she wakes up. For the last few weeks, that has been sometime between 4am and 6am...which wasn't horrible, since she would go right back to bed after eating and sleep until 8am or 9am. But the goal has always been to eliminate that middle of the night feed again...which happened last night without any work (i.e. no need for me to try to let her cry -- which hasn't been something I've been willing to do). Hopefully we get another full night's sleep tonight and this is the start of another trend...I'm not taking anything to the bank though, because if I've learned anything in these few months, it's that you can't count on anything being permanent...you just have to roll with it and hope for the best!

What else is new...

Kennedy has gotten much better at both (a) holding her head up, and (b) holding toys! She's getting close to being able to hang out in her excersaucer and jolly jumper (or "Jenny Jump Up"...which is the cute girl version!). I've also signed her up for her first swimming lessons starting April 10 (she'll be almost 5 months by then) -- can't wait!

I have a ton of pictures and videos to post...but I have to pull them off the cameras (both of which are in Kennedy's room where she's sound asleep!)...so that'll have to wait.

Sorry for neglecting you! :)