Thursday, April 21, 2011

Attack of the Zombie Baby!

Once bitten, twice shy...except that I've been bitten more than once...and there is no end in sight!

I have a zombie baby.

Ever since those two little chompers made their debut, Baby-Bean is a chewing machine! She chews her fists, toys, blankets...and any other flesh that she can get her hands on! If you hold her hand, she'll eventually pull your fingers into biting range...CHOMP! That's no biggy...it's the other pieces of flesh that she bites that is really starting to get to momma. You know which fleshy bits I'm referring to. Yup. She's discovered the joy that is biting mommy's boobs. Good times.

I was hoping she'd stop after the first couple of reactions (shrill "ouch" and/or "cheese and rice" that emerged from my mouth as soon as the teeth sank in)...but so far she has not been scared off. This morning my shout actually made her cry (which I felt a little guilty about...but seriously...that is some really sensitive skin she's gnawing on!).

Bottom line: Kennedy is a flesh-eater.

While that is necessary for her characterization as a zombie, it is not sufficient. She has also taken to a really gruff grunting sound. Prof-Man has recorded it, and I will try to upload the audio here (or get a video of it)...it is NOT a sound that should come from a baby...or a girl...or anything other than a zombie!? :)

She's.a.zombie.

What else...she is now just over 5 months. Completely neglected to take a 5 month picture (which is stupid, because there was a Canucks game that day, and I had her all dressed up...would have been a cute picture...oh well!). She hasn't really been rolling or anything...I'm trying not to worry...

Okay, gotta run, she's up from her 10 minute nap...more as soon as I get a chance!

Monday, April 11, 2011

A gaggle of chicklets!

Tooth #2 cut through today! Not sure if Kennedy's gums are still aggravated from the bottom teeth pushing through or if her top ones are already coming, but she's still gnawing on her hands and going through the same ole teething motions...I guess we'll see!

For now, I will try, on a daily basis, to get a picture of the little white nuggets! Tried today, but the first one is still only about a milimeter above her gum line, so it doesn't really show when she smiles (unless you see her in person, when you can get a better angle to peek into her mouth)!

We went for our first swimming lesson on Sunday, and it was so much fun! Kennedy loves the water and had a great time. The baby pool at the Vancouver Aquatic Centre is absolutely gorgeous (bigger than others that I've seen)...and apparently, they use ozonation instead of chlorination...so that's great news (especially with Kennedy's exema). We've got a couple of pictures and videos which I'll try to post below. Quality isn't great because they were taken on Prof Man's phone...but you get the gist of what was going on! Also...sidenote...please ignore the...err..."chunky" gal in her new bathing suit (oh, I guess I should clarify that I mean the one who's holding Baby-Bean...not Baby-Bean herself...though she is also rocking a new bathing suit!)...I'm working on it! ;)



Saturday, April 9, 2011

Toofers!

Poor little Baby-Bean is a teething machine these days. On Tuesday afternoon, I took a peek in her mouth and saw what looked like a hole...it was kind of purplish in colour, and looked aggravated. I could tell a tooth was on its way, but I couldn't tell if the tooth had cut through and then sunk back down or not. Well, yesterday, it finally cut through -- I can feel the tooth in all it's glory! Her first tooth will be the bottom one on my left (her right).

Poor little gal though...the next tooth is following quickly behind. When I looked today, it appears to be in the same state as the first on was on Tuesday. If I were a betting woman, I'd say that the second tooth will be cutting through in a couple of days...max.

They say that cutting through is the worst part, so hopefully growing these cute little teeth in won't give Kennedy too much trouble (and hopefully she gets a little break before the next teeth make their way through).

Now the waiting game begins...how long will it take these little nibblets to grow all the way in? Right now you can tell there's a tooth on it's way, but she doesn't have that hilarious little toothy smile yet! Guess I should enjoy these last few days of gummy grins, because she'll never have those again (awe crap, I just about made myself cry there...stupid hormones).

No pictures yet (but let's not kid ourselves...I tried to pry open her mouth to get a shot of the teeth on their way in...no such luck!).

Sunday, April 3, 2011

Rock 'n' Rolla!

Who me!?



Our little acrobat was at it again today! She did her first full back-to-front roll today! For the last few days, she's been doing what I have been calling an "almost roll"...sort of a 3/4 of the way there roll...which I attributed to her hating being on her stomach (she'd roll to the point that her lower half was all the way over, but she'd use her arm to keep her upper body propped sideways). She was doing that again today, rocking back and forth...quite enjoying herself! :) I decided to get a shot of it to post here and get some input as to whether I could call that a roll or not. But as I was snapping pictures, she decided to go ahead and complete the roll! Yay for having the camera out -- I caught it all on film!

This was the first one I took (too determine the concensus on whether this was a roll or not)...



But then...



...she completed...



...the roll!



And then she proceeded to chew on her hands for a bit!



She has also been getting into sitting. Obviously, she's not doing it unsupported yet, but today she sat (after I balanced her) for about 30 seconds (with a few wobbles that she was able to correct on her own) all by herself! She's getting there!



See!? Both of my hands can clearly be seen in this one -- I'm not holding her up! :)



She's also completely infatuated with Jackie (the dog) these days. A few days ago, she discovered the joy of patting and/or grabbing Jackie's fur. Jackie, being a dog that is just as smitten with Kennedy as Prof-Man and I are, was all for this. For a while. Now, unless Kennedy is willing to give up some licks (i.e. be on the receiving end of licks to the hands, feet, face or head), Jackie is less willing to hang out and be poked and prodded. We'll see how that develops...but I think those two are going to be great friends!





Okay, back to my "near beer" (0% alcohol beer -- I still have to wake Kennedy up for her late night feed before I can crack into the real wine!) and some Sunday evening relaxing!

Ugh -- update -- as I was uploading pictures, Kennedy woke up (AGAIN) and is now rolling around in her crib trying to eat her own hands...it's going to be a long night. So as punishment...I'm posting a picture of her adorable little nakedness!



Hee hee...