Monday, May 31, 2010

Enough with the morning sickness already!

Okay before I start…I just have to say that as I was typing this (at work again), I glanced down and noticed that I’ve somehow managed to drip this morning’s yogurt all down my sweater. I ate that yogurt 2 hours ago, and I just noticed it now. Classy. Well, at least when Baby-Bean is born, he/she won’t be the only one covered in food/spit up! Okay, I don’t have any spit up on me…but it was a close call this morning…which leads me to the topic of this post. I suppose I should give you a “too much information” warning before I start…proceed at your own risk!

Just when you think you’re rounding the corner to “no more morning sickness” it comes back and slaps you in the face! I woke up this morning feeling like a bag of poop…then I had to take out She-Boston and He-Boston and follow them around to pick up their poop (now I’m feeling like a bag of poop and carrying around a stinky little Ziploc bag of poop…awesome). Not a great combo, but I made it through that task.

I think I’ve discovered that the nauseous feeling is associated with hunger (I woke up starving!), so I force down a bowl of cereal (tough to eat when you feel like nothing will stay down). Also manage to get through that task.

Have my usual preggo gag reflex moment while brushing my teeth, but manage to get through yet another task unscathed.

All is well until I get on the disgusting stinky soggy muggy bus. It is completely packed. We’re squished in like sardines, and I’m standing clinging for my life (and the life of Baby-Bean) to the bar that’s too tall for me. I start to notice just how smelly the bus is…wet clothes, bad morning breath of those around me (brush your teeth people – if I can do it despite gagging 30 times, you’d think you could get it together!)…and it’s so hot on the bus…

Must think of something else!

I distract myself by trying to look out the foggy windows…wish I could open one (but I’d get rain water all over the people sitting in front of me…that and I’d probably fall down in the process of reaching over). Then the “curtains” start to close in. You know that creepy darkness that starts to close in from your peripheral vision when you’re about to pass out? Yeah, I’m fighting that back. Man I wish one of these eggheads would realize that this bump is not just fat and let me sit down (so I could stick my head between my knees and avoid passing out and/or projectile vomiting cereal all over the bus). Spend a couple of minutes distracting myself by looking forward to the time when the preggo belly is more obvious so that I can ask people to get their lazy arses out of their seats…but alas, I don’t ask anyone this time.

Instead, I continue to struggle…and seriously contemplate sitting on the wet floor of the bus (might make the fall less painful and dangerous if/when I do pass out). Decide that I’d rather sit on the concrete. Must get off this bus…NOW. Contemplate yelling at the bus driver to stop (despite being between stops)…I’m sure he’d be happy he did if it meant avoiding a bus full of chewed up cereal (hee hee, can you tell I’m not nauseous anymore and can write about it a little more graphically!).

Manage to make it to the stop. Fight my way out…seriously people…gonna faint and/or hurl…you don’t want to see this!

Thankfully, I didn’t actually have to sit on the wet concrete. Once I got off the bus, I almost instantly started to feel better. Unfortunately, I’m nowhere near work yet. Decide to walk to the next stop (I’m not ready to get on another bus just yet). The next bus had seats available (lucky me)…so I dizzily drag myself on the bus and make it to work.

Long story with no climax…I know. The upside is that I made it to work relatively unscathed (took an hour or so to get my arms and legs to stop shaking). Unfortunately, now that I’m here, I realize that I’m too tired to concentrate and can’t seem to get any work done! Thank goodness I have tomorrow off!

2 comments:

  1. Hunger = nausea... so true! My totally unrequested tip-o-the-day, saltines on your bedstand. Even if you aren't hungry and don't want to eat, if you wake in the night to pee (which you inevitibly will, now and every night for the rest of your life to come now), choke a few down. The morning will thank you for it! (Just find a way to keep the dogs from getting them :P)

    ReplyDelete
  2. I could totally relate to this post...when I was in my first trimester I was still living in Winnipeg and had to bus to work. Well between the smell of the bus and the smell of the gross fast food places we had to pass I had to get off on more than one occasion. One time though I got off, downtown Winnipeg, to throw up. So I'm standing on the street throwing up because there was no where to go, I didn't look pregnant so I'm sure it did not look good. But this super nice woman stopped to ask if I was ok and then gave me a ride to work...she was such a sweet old lady, I'll never forget that :)

    ReplyDelete