Wednesday, July 28, 2010

First coat of paint = Check! :)

TV broken = Check! :(

The last 24 hours have been full of highs and lows.

The highs:

Prof-Man picked up the paint for Baby-Bean's room, and last night I (sporting a very sexy mask) tackled the first coat. Looks great so far (with a little imagination...I mean it actually looks terrible at the moment because it needs at least another coat or two...but you can see that it's going to look great!).

When I had finished painting, Prof-Man procured some delicious root beer floats for us to enjoy! (Did you know that most root beer is naturally cafeine-free!?) Such a delicious treat after painting. Made for a lovely evening!

The low:

At some point last night, the TV fritzed out. I did a little research this morning, and it looks like it may be the motherboard. Not cool. It means we either have to get it fixed (who knows how long that will take), or get a new one (which is usually what they tell you to do, because the cost of repair is usually higher than the cost of a new TV). Frick. This is annoying both (a) because I'm addicted to television (what the heck are we going to do with our evenings!?), and (b) because I was planning to buy a new TV for the bedroom...that plan may now have to be put on hold (seems irresponsible to buy two TVs when we've got a little Budget-Buster on the way!).

Ugh.

Anyways, back to better things. I took a few "before" pictures of the nursery. Will take an "in between" once the painting is done. Then once all of the furniture gets here, I'll take an "after" picture and post them all together. This probably won't happen until September (the furniture isn't scheduled to get here until sometime in late September). I can't wait to see the finished product!

Monday, July 26, 2010

Space Chair for Baby-Bean?

As I was responding to Shannon's comment about fun celebrity endorsements and the fact that I seem to buy into them, I realized that I hadn't yet posted on the fun new chair that Shannon had introduced me to!

This chair is a swing/bouncy seat/robotic momma (!) all-in-one! Perfect for space-saving IMHO (for those non-nerds, that translates to "in my humble opinion").

When I first saw the chair, I figured it would cost a fortune and would therefore not be something that we could afford (we have enough over-priced baby stuff already...need to start budgeting so that I can actually enjoy my mat leave without freaking out about our finances)...I was pleasantly surprised to find out that it's actually not much more than the typical Toys R Us type swings out there. It's a little more, but it replaces several clunky baby items with one sleek looking all-in-one item (perfect for our small space living!).

Here it is in all its glory!



Here's some cut and pastes from the site:

"We’ve never seen a parent vibrate like a bouncy seat or swing like a swing. But we’ve seen thousands of parents scoop their little ones up in their arms and bounce and sway. And that’s what the mamaRoo does. It moves like you do. The mamaRoo’s seat reclines to any position along its axis. The machine washable fabric removes easily. It’s as easy to clean as it is to use. Babies love white noise machines, so we built one in. Choose from one of five nature sounds, or for something a little more rockin’, connect any MP3 player. Hundreds of people helped develop the mamaRoo. While medical experts pushed for speeds that would really stimulate a baby’s inner ear, some 4moms preferred slower movements. So we made the speed adjustable. Slow down for sleep or speed up for play. Of course every one is always safe. Three toys by classical artists. Zero monkeys. Brilliant. We love monkeys at the zoo, but not in our living rooms. Our plush toy balls are black and white on one side for infants. The other side is for babies that can see color (around 4 months). Perfectly sized for little hands, they easily pop in and out of the mobile babies can chew...err...study them."

It moves in a bunch of different motions/directions...

The mamaRoo bounces up and down and sways from side to side, just like parents do when comforting their babies.
A figure eight on its side



Lots of up-and-down, less side-to-side



High on the sides, low in the middle



Low on the sides, high in the middle



Around in a big circle




Me likey. :)

Sunday, July 25, 2010

It's all coming together!

So fun! It's all coming together (and it's all coming on our next credit card bill -- yikes!). :)

Friday evening, Prof-Man and I took a trip to Pottery Barn Kids as part of our quest for brightly coloured crib bedding. We found the one we love! It's perfect -- exactly what Prof-Man had envisioned (and since Prof-Man had come up with a colour scheme that he loved, I went with it -- primarily because I was impressed that he had such a strong opinion on the matter!).

Prof-Man's inspiration came from this picture:



I'm not sure how he hunted it down, but he decided that this colour scheme was perfect, and exactly what he wanted for Baby-Bean (do you think he's a tad bit excited to be having a baby girl -- I mean seriously...hello PINK!). One of the reasons he loves it is that it works well with the lime green wall that we have down the hall from Baby-Bean's future room (PS -- I say "future" room, because right now it has been converted into the dogs' toy/suntanning room!).

I digress...back to the bedding...

We've ventured away from the bugs and plants themes (started to feel a little tacky), and have instead decided to go with a patchwork quilt theme in various pinks and greens (could have also gone with violets and greens -- which I also love...and would, coincidentally have matched a HUGE purple stuffed bunny that I've been saving since I was young!)...but in light of Prof-Man's strong opinion, we stuck with the pink and green theme.

Here's the pics from the Pottery Barn Kids website. The actual bedding is much more beautiful (you can't see the richness of the bright pink and lime green, nor can you see the detail in the ribbons and various materials). It's pricey, but it's gorgeous (in our humble opinions!).




So that's the colour theme: hot pink and lime green (and the various more pastel versions thereof wherever necessary). One or two of the walls will be painted hot pink, and there will be canvasses or something with the lime green accents (we may even try to copy the canvas in the first picture above with the multi-coloured polka dots).

Believe it or not, that's not actually where we spent our money this weekend. We only bought a small pillow case from the bedding set (to do colur matching). The rest we decided to register for. That's not because we're expecting gifts or expecting people who choose to purchase gifts to buy them off of a registry...it's actually primarily because we get 10% off everything we add to the registry (so we can buy it later at a discount!). It's also convenient that people who are out of town that want to get something for Baby-Bean can just call in and place an order directly off the registry.

Yeesh...I digress yet again...

Where did we spend all of our moolah? We ordered both (a) the gorgeous glider/recliner that we'd had our eye on, and (b) the yuppy stroller/car seat/basinette!

The glider/recliner is white leather. Stupid? Maybe. But leather cleans well...and I'm willing to take a risk (at least it'll look gorgeous until the day Baby-Bean becomes a felt marker toting picasso!). There's actually a stick we can get that will even cover felt marker and crayon marks that magically appear on the white leather...so hopefully we'll manage to keep it looking gorgeous! Unfortunately no pictures yet of our fun new glider...well, I can show you the one that's in a beige colour (just imagine this in white leather with espresso legs).



We decided to go with a nicer glider/recliner because (a) I don't like the ugly ones that are specifically for nurseries (sorry to anyone out there that has one), and (b) we plan to move this out of the nursery later on and use it as a main room chair (or, for Prof-Man, as a gaming chair!).

So the main furniture pieces and theme for the nursery are all ordered and/or decided upon. Now we just have to get to work sanding, painting, etc. Very excited to start seeing the progress (I'll be sure to post before and after pictures).

Our final purchase this weekend was the stroller system (which is actually going to be a gift from Baby-Bean's Baba and Gido). We went with the Orbit system for a million reasons (that I don't feel the need to type out -- mostly because I've grown bored of this post so am trying to wrap it up now!). It comes with the stroller base, car seat base, infant car seat, and toddler stroller seat. We also had to buy the basinette (with rocker) -- as that goes on the stroller for infants (and is way more comfy -- umm...not sure which baby they asked about this, but I'd like to meet this miraculous talking baby!), and a "weather pack" (rain cover -- we'd be crazy not to get this with a baby due in November in Vancouver!).

Here's the stroller with the infant car seat attached:



And here it is with the toddler seat attached (not a car seat -- that will come later!):



And finally, the basinette (which attaches to the stroller as well to make a really cute pram!):



So it's all ordered...now we just have to wait. The chair comes in about 10 weeks (so we decided to pick up the stroller system at the same time -- no need to clutter up the place already!). Around 15 weeks left before Baby-Bean gets here (depending on when she decides to join us...I'm still thinking she'll be fairly close to her due date though...we'll see!). Can't wait! :)

Friday, July 23, 2010

My Beer Shelf

I came to the realization today that my "boob shelf" has officially been passed by my "belly shelf". I guess that explains the tight stretchy feeling that I've been having in my stomach...it's been worse the last couple of days (Baby-Bean has figured out how to kick and punch at the same time (resulting in a thump in the rib cage and a squish of the bladder at the same time) -- quite the feat! This little girl seems to enjoy her stretches (takes after her momma -- she writes as she lets out a HUGE stretch at her desk).

Anyways, the reason I came to the shelf realization was because I had a little giggle to myself when I realized that I had grown myself a nice little beer holder. Unfortunately, it can only be used to hold "near beer"...such a waste. Maybe that's why men grow beer guts...it's on purpose! They need a convenient place to place their beer!

For now, I'll have to be content to use my belly shelf as a muffin holder (this morning's snack is a banana chocolate chip muffin that I baked last night).

Wednesday, July 21, 2010

Long time, no post!?

People have been commenting on my sporadic posts lately. I was planning to say that I was too busy at work...but that's not really true (I was really busy when I was posting, but was still finding time to jot down a few things). To be honest, I just haven't had much to say lately. Nothing new really...belly is getting fatter (I took pictures yesterday but haven't decided if I'm going to post them...they're seriously unflattering!)...work is getting more annoying (every day that I get closer to mat leave gets harder and harder to endure!)...I'm in a new battle with my strata (totally unrelated to Baby-Bean, so I'll leave that one alone for now!).

The one thing that I have been meaning to note here is my completely irrational fear of being hit in the stomach.

Now I've had this fear for a long time, but because it is so embarrassingly irrational, I was trying to avoid writing about it. I've decided, however, that I should have a log of this so that if the fear comes back in my next pregnancy, I won't think of gone crazy (or at least, I won't have gone any more crazy than I already was!).

It's not like I have a fear of random objects flying at me, or even an accidental bump or elbow on the street. What I have, is a fear that a stranger is going to walk up and punch me in the belly.

Weird, I know.

But seriously...I picture it almost every time that I see a stranger walking towards me (including every morning on the bus).

Maybe it's something to do with the overactive imagination that leads pregnant ladies to have vivid dreams...

I'd like to think that this is "normal", but somehow, I seriously doubt it. Do I really think that people are going to punch a pregnant lady in the belly? Probably not (if I really think logically). But my brain isn't functioning logically when I get these mental pictures.

It's creepy and weird. I'm creepy and weird.

And with that, I sign off. :)

I'll try to update more consistently...but my priority right now is finding a non-pastel crib bedding set (a ridiculously difficult task). Prof-Man and I still like the one that I posted earlier, but we're having trouble finding it in person (I plan to order it online from the States, but would at least like to see it in person first!).

Wednesday, July 14, 2010

Am I really not the most Type A mommy-to-be!?

I can't believe it...I really thought that I was the biggest planner / Type A mommy-to-be out there...but apparently I'm a total slacker!

Just got off the phone with the lady that runs the prenatal class that I want to take (you might recall from an earlier post that the July session had already filled up -- so I was trying to get into the September session). I figured I was WAY ahead of the game...but the class is now full!?

Thankfully, it's "full" AFTER me...so we're in! I would have lost my sh!t if we didn't get into this class. I've done an insane amount of research and comparison between styles and classes, and felt that I had made an informed decision and was happy/excited about it. I actually went back to the drawing board and did even more research after I found out that the July class was full (I was a little worried about taking a class that finished in mid-October -- thought that might be a little close to my due date). It would have been kind of (read: totally!) devastating if after all of that, I had to resort to my second choice!

We've avoided all that drama. We're in...but there are at least 4 other preggo ladies out there that are better planners (or worse procrastinators) than I! :)

Tuesday, July 13, 2010

How did this happen!?

Why oh why must I fall in love with expensive things!? I was looking into diaper bags today…I can’t even remember why I started…

I should start by saying that I had previously been an “anti-diaper-bag” person. I felt like this was just another example of people selling stuff at an inflated price just because it has something/anything to do with babies (I mean really, can’t you just use a regular bag and put your diapers etc. in that?).

Life would have been so much easier if I could just stick to my original inclinations with these things…but nooo…I’ve gotta get online and start doing research.

So I found a diaper bag that I absolutely adore. Unfortunately, the stupid thing is priced between $160-$180 (depending on where you get it). How did I go from not planning to buy anything, to buying a stupidly expensive “diaper bag”!? I’ll tell you how: I'm a sucker! :)

Kidding! Actually, it looks quite functional (has the built-in change pad, specific places for wipes, bottles, etc.). I can't help but conclude that this bag is awesome! It’s an all-in-one change station! I think that it will make planning for leaving the house just a little bit easier…plus it’s pretty (and attaches to the stroller so it doesn’t have to be too manly – just has to sort of match the stroller and Prof-Man won’t have to feel like a tool carrying it around!). :)

Is it bad that I also enjoy the name of the company? Petunia Pickle Bottom!? Love it! The website won’t allow me to attach a picture…so here’s the link to the pattern/style that currently has me intrigued...

I love love love it! And I think it will go with our stroller whether we end up choosing the “black and grey” one (that I like) or the “all red” one (that Prof-Man likes)!

Anyways...the conclusion is this: boo to me for being such a chump. I guess that's why I have to keep my job...to afford my ridiculous need to buy baby stuff! At least I didn't pick the Kate Spade or Coach "diaper bags" (running somewhere closer to the $300-$500 mark!)...thankfully, I'm not a "name brand" person (unless, apparently, the name of the brand is cute and quirky!).

Wednesday, July 7, 2010

Baby-Bean has a knockout kick!

I'm seriously wondering if Prof-Man was actually correct in his prediction that Baby-Bean is going to be an MMA fighter and is appropriate nicknamed Red Dragon (that stupid name has TOTALLY stuck BTW).

Why, you ask?

Had my 22 week appointment with the midwife yesterday. Found out that despite the strong kicking that Prof-Man and I have been feeling, I actually have an anterior placenta. For those of you who don't speak technical preggo-speak, that just means that my placenta is in the front (so Baby-Bean has a nice little cushy and protective hiding place behind it). Not an uncommon thing at all...but it usually means that you don't feel much movement. Translation: Baby-Bean must be moving like crazy to have me feeling it so strong and so often! I'm feeling her through the placenta! Such a strong little girl, our Baby-Bean. She's no wuss, this girl. Very excited to meet her...seems like we may have our hands full (like we expected anything less!). :)

In other updates from the appointment, Baby-Bean's heartbeat is good (150 BPM) and I'm measuring exactly where I should be for 22 weeks. The midwife did, however, confirm why my preggo belly looks so funny (sits right below my boobs already)...

I'm short-waisted.

Hmm...hadn't really considered whether I was short-waisted. I guess it's an obvious conclusion to draw given that I'm fairly short, and have relatively long legs for my height (something's gotta give, right?).

The result of my being so short-waisted is that my uterus is sitting WAY above my belly-button (should only be somewhere around my belly button at this point). So, my belly sticks out more at the top than the average preggo-gal.

Midwife informed me that I should tell anyone who gives me any snarky remarks about my size or shape, that "I'm measuring exactly where I'm supposed to. So there!" :)

Tuesday, July 6, 2010

Dogs = no longer barking

I hushed them puppies!

Bought myself some sensible shoes. They're okay. I am NOT a fan of flat shoes...but I'm being a responsible preggo-lady.

That's really all I had to say. This post is more to inform my mom and Prof-Man that they no longer have to worry about me taking a nose-dive in front of traffic or anything (well...I guess that's still a concern...but I will no longer be able to blame the clutziness on the shoes!).

Monday, July 5, 2010

Ramblings of a high-heeled hippo!

Look out Vancouver...there's a high-heeled hippo on the loose!

That would have been the headline if anyone (other than the bus driver) had caught my lumbering trot towards the bus stop this morning.

I was about a block and a half away from the stop when I noticed that the bus was almost there...so I "clink clop, clink clop" my high-heeled heffers towards the bus, hoping that the driver would notice me and pull over and wait...

Why the "clink" and not just "clops" you ask? Well, in my heftiness, I've worn through one of my heels, exposing the screw...of course a normal person would get this fixed, but preggo Lady-Lawyer is too tired/lazy to take care of this issue...and instead chooses to "clink clop" around all day. I should note that the biggest reason for this is that I don't plan to lumber around in the high heels much longer...will be down-sizing to flats in the very near future (read: when I get my lazy arse around to buying some flats!).

Anyways, back to my fatso shananigans...

There we are, me and my big fat baby-bump, slopping down the street towards the bus stop (there's no way I'm going to make it -- why am I still running!?)...when the bus driver noticed my pitiful attempt to catch him, and pulled over (about half a block past the stop -- to save me having to run any further and further embarrass myself) to pick me up! SUCH a nice driver -- made my morning (which seriously took a lot, since by then, I had a sore stomach from the short jog; not sure why that happens, but whenever I walk long distances or run short distances, I get a "cramp/stitch" in my lower abdomen (i.e. not where the normal running cramp/stitch would be located)).

The lessons from this morning's embarrassment?
(1) Be nice to your bus driver (he might do you a favour!).
(2) Don't wear rickety high heels when you're 22 weeks pregnant and clutsy (it's a wonder that I didn't trip and fall on this ridiculous little jaunt!).
(3) If you fail to adhere to rule #2, at the very least, don't run to catch the bus...it's not worth it (work will still be there in 15 minutes and you'll save yourself the hippo-related embarrassment).