Okay okay, I know it's been a long time...but I'm BUSY!!! All this lawyering has got me exhausted (which means that when I get home at night, I'm in no mood to do anything but relax -- which includes some "forced relaxation" as part of my prenatal classes). So that's why I haven't been posting.
Sorry...but bear with me! I think that I'll have to start posting on the weekends. There's just no time to post at work anymore. I think someone here figured out that I was going on mat leave in 6 weeks and had a panic attack...and proceeded to throw as much work at me as possible. Apparently they haven't figured out that if you stress me out and work me too hard, I won't last the full 6 weeks, and will end up leaving in 3!?
So here I sit...at work, posting my (possibly) last "at work blog post"...surrounded by mountains of paper (must try not to focus on that for a few minutes...it'll all get done...or get burned in the inferno that I set when I leave!)...sipping my decaf latte (and no, it's not non-fat, I'm enjoying the delight that is 2% milk in a latte...so rich and creamy)...and delaying the inevitable feed fest that will occur as soon as I open the delicious bag of deliciousness that is my Starbucks pumpkin cream cheese muffin...(insert picture of gigantic pregnant lady drooling on her keyboard)...so tasty!
Okay back to the task at hand. Updates. I'm going to do this in list form, because there are numerous updates and I'm not feeling particularly creative this morning!
-Blinds installed (look AWESOME -- and actually work! Baby-Bean will be able to sleep in a nice dark room!)
-Carpets installed (also look AWESOME and feel amazing...so soft on the feet...love them!)
-Leak in master bathroom ceiling -- still not dealt with...but the plumber "thinks" he has found the source of the leak and is coming back today to fix it. The upshot is that no matter what, he's decided that he should just go ahead and fix the crack in the concrete above our ceiling (with some sort of magical waterproof plug) and then fix the drywall...so we should have that issue resolved by the time Baby-Bean gets here
-Some of the nursery furniture has arrived!!! Crib (with drawers underneath) and change table/dresser are put together and looking great! The room is really coming together. I've managed to get all of the 0-3 month clothes put into drawers and am now working out a system of baskets for sockets, hats, diapers and diaper accesories (some will go in the change table thingy, and others will likely go on top of the change table...depending on how cute I can make them look!).
-Still waiting for the glider and stroller...expecting those to get here at the end of the month (or early October).
-Planning on getting a toy chest thingy...might pick that up this weekend (white fake leather...love it!). All the hand-me-down toys have been washed up and are ready to go in the toy chest!
-Went shopping in the States with my mom and bought a cute lamp (matches the pink wall and the fake crystal drawer pulls)...also bought tons of clothes (I'll load some pics when I get around to it!)...and an adorable lady bug pod thing for bath time (for later...when she can have big girl baths with toys). Also bought cute boots (yay to the return of heels -- I could not handle those awful slipper things...they make my feet swell up like Fred Flinstone...and they make for some very smelly preggo feet by the end of the day)...and some fall maternity clothes (including tights that look cute with the dresses/sweaters over them, but look absolutely hilarious without...I will NEVER post a picture of those on...but if you see me wearing them, feel free to ask for a show -- they're hilarious!). Actually, no...I take that back...no shows...don't ask! :)
-Haven't been back to the midwife since 27 weeks...and I'm coming up on 33 weeks (had to cancel this week's appointment because of work)...I'm going back next week...hopefully nothing shocking to worry about. I feel fine (other than the enormously heavy belly and aching everything)...and Baby-Bean is a karate master kicking the living daylights out of her mama...so I'm guessing everything's fine.
-Started our 6 weeks of prenatal classes on Saturday. It went really well (but for the whole having to get up early on a Saturday). Oh, and yes, I realize that I'll have to get up early everyday once Baby-Bean is born. No need to point out the obvious (hmmm...Lady-Lawyer is getting more attitude as this pregnancy progresses!).
-Speaking of attitude...if I get one more "you know you shouldn't be drinking that" from colleagues or random strangers, I'm going to LOSE IT. (a) Experts say that you can have 1 cup of coffee per day throughout pregnancy...and, more importantly, (b) I'm drinking a fricking DECAF!!! People need to MIND THEIR OWN BEESWAX! My being pregnant is not a ticket for you to throw out all common sense and give me unsolicited advice/criticism!
-I also don't want to hear your horror stories about birth. I'm trying to have a positive outlook on things...and hearing your crappy stories isn't helping. Why oh why do people think that it's appropriate to scare the bejeebus out of pregnant ladies...is it some kind of warped badge of honour that women feel they've earned? "I've been through it, so it's my right to tell you all of the gory details of what I went through!?" Beat it.
-Yes, I want to have a natural birth. And yes, I realize that that may not work out. But why, oh why, do people feel the need to criticize and/or roll their eyes at the possibility of getting through a COMPLETELY NATURAL process...naturally!? Of course I realize that I may need pain relief...but that's not the plan. My plan may change, and that'll be my business (and Prof-Man's business)...but how has that become anyone else's business? Insert comments on unsolicited advice/criticism.
-Oh, and no, I'm not having twins. Stop asking -- it's RUDE.
-I do, however, I agree that I'm huge. My skin feels like it's going to explode, my ribs are killing me, as is my back...and pelvis (ha ha...too much information!?). But I'm still loving pregnancy...it's all worth it when I get the hilarious kicks and dance moves from Baby-Bean!
Hmm...that list turned from a polite update to a rant! Sorry about that...I must say though, that it was quite cathartic! I feel much better now. The desire to punch random strangers in the face has subsided -- I guess I should do this more often! :)
After all that nastiness though...I'm not sure people will still want to read my blog!? Sorry...I'm really not that big of a grouch (at least I don't think I am!?).
I'll leave you with one last amusing tidbit. My latest plan is to start eating copious amounts of wrapped candies. That way, when this preggo pinata explodes, there will be delicious gifts for all to enjoy!
No comments:
Post a Comment