Friday, August 27, 2010

I'm still alive...just busy!

I've been trying to be a diligent little worker bee lately, so have been avoiding blogging during work hours...(and am generally too tired to be bothered with blogging in the mornings or evenings)...but I'm just too excited to work right now!

Baby-Bean's nursery furniture (minus the glider which was ordered from a different store) is set to arrive next week! Woo hoo! We ordered it back at the end of June, and there is an 8-16 week delivery window, so I'm ectatic that the furniture is arriving well in advance of the 16 week deadline! I've actually pushed the delivery back a week to September 10th, because our carpet is being replaced on September 3 (no point in moving the furniture twice!). The delivery guys will also be setting everything up for us (no additional charge) -- which means no tools or hassle necessary! So exciting!

I'm particularly excited because having the drawers means that I can really start planning out the room...and having most of the furniture in place will give us a better idea of what to put on the walls (and where). Baby-Bean's room will be all ready to go by the end of September (ha, let's not kid ourselves, I'll have that room set up the evening of the 10th!). I can't wait!

On a totally unrelated note, I wanted to write about a really nice lady on the bus this morning. I'm usually a total cow about bus riding...I absolutely loathe having to take the bus to and from work every day. The bus is smelly and uncomfortable, and as a preggo-lady, I've found that it makes me bitchy and nauseous. The nausea is a motion sickness thing that has gotten worse throughout the pregnancy. The bitchiness thing results from an observation that people will actually go out of their way to avoid looking at a pregnant lady so that they don't have to give up their seat. I watch it every day. One day I'm going to say something. I generally just leave it, because I can still stand on my own two feet (unless I get too dizzy and/or nauseous)...but as things progress, I'm guessing that I'll be in no mood for standing on a crowded bus...at that point I'm going to start making snarky remarks about people getting off of their lazy arses.

Anyhoo...that's my gripe...but I was actually trying to write about a nice woman this morning. I got on the bus (tons of empty seats this morning = not grumpy!) and sat down with a bit of a grimace. I had been having pretty strong/sharp round ligament pains (or something like that) and was fairly uncomfortable. It didn't occur to me to hide my discomfort (didn't think anyone would take notice and I honestly didn't think I was making that much of a face). About 5 minutes into the ride, a woman came over and asked me if I was doing okay and/or need any help. I think she thought I was going into labour or something!? Apparently my grimace looked a lot worse from the outside (I didn't even notice I was making a face!). I smiled and told her everything was fine...that there were good and bad comfort days, and this was just one of the latter. When I got off the bus, I made a point of thanking her for being so kind and helpful though...it's so rare that people actually care enough to go out of their way to check on a person's well-being. I was touched (though quite embarrassed). :)

Okay that's all for now. Back to work for me. Hi-ho...hi-ho...

No comments:

Post a Comment