Monday, August 9, 2010

Saving the environment...1 credit card charge at a time!

Warning -- this is a totally boring post...but I felt the need to vent my spending/shopping issues out...and I also wanted to keep track of my purchases!

I am seriously addicted to searching out and buying cloth diapers. Seriously addicted.

In the last week, I've bought:

(1) Diapers from the states (online) for newborns ("Kissaluvs" -- love the adorable names of all the cloth diapers!)...got a deal when buying in bulk, so I bought all of the diapers that we'll need for Baby-Bean when she's a newborn. The order also came with a deal on covers, so I got three of those as well. Had a mini-panic attack when I thought (after placing the order) about duty...until I did my research, and discovered that there would/should be no duty on diapers made in North America (which these ones are). Got 18 of these. The manufacturers suggest more, but our laundry is right across the hall from Baby-Bean's room...so I'm planning on doing a load of diapers per day. 18 should be fine (I hope). Otherwise Baby-Bean will have to get by with old tea towels with IGA bags as covers. :)

That was such fun (and my credit card enjoyed the workout so thoroughly) that I decided to go ahead and start buying the next size up.

(2) Diapers for post-newborn stage ("Fuzzibuns" -- again, such a cute name). Got all different (ADORABLE) colours in the "small" size. These things are so cute that Baby-Bean could just wear her diapers with a shirt, and she'd look adorable! Grannie (my mom) bought 4 adorable daisy print ones (different colours), and I bought another 12 in different (but equally adorable patterns and colours). Part of the problem (read: why I consider this to be an addiction) is that I've bought these 12 diapers from 3 different sources (1 physical store and 2 online orders). I'm addicted to finding the cutest patterns, for the best price, with no shipping charges. The reason I'm buying so much so quickly is that the manufacturer has just released new colours for 2010, which means that the "old" colours are now discounted. Yay deals! I'm sure Baby-Bean won't mind wearing last year's colours! :) Got 16 of these, total. Hoping that will be enough (again, this is well under the manufacturers' suggested numbers...but obviously the manufacturer has a hidden agenda!).

(3) Mixed in with the above orders, I've been adding some "medium" sized Fuzzibuns (these are meant to last until Baby-Bean is potty-trained...assuming she doesn't grow too big before that time, in which case, we may have to invest in some "large"...or revert to my tea towel in IGA bag idea noted above). I've limited those purchases to 7 total...but I'm sure I'll have topped up the collection by the end of the week (I'm a sucker for a deal!).

So all in all, I've spent a small fortune on cloth crap-catchers. You're welcome Earth. That is my 2010 "Act of Green". Now stop complaining when Prof-Man leaves all the lights in the house on! :)

1 comment:

  1. Don't buy large!!!! I have tons, and didn't sell them. Also, don't buy med or large inserts, I have tons too.

    ReplyDelete