Thursday, February 17, 2011

Whoops...okay, I'm back again!

I'm a bad, bad blogger. I know it's been over a week since my last post...I really have been meaning to post something, but I just don't have anything witty or interesting to say these days! :)

In the last week, we've:

-taken Kennedy to her 3rd Canucks game (I've posted the pics, but let's not kid ourselves, they look the same as all of the other Canucks game pics...she's bundled up with ginormous earphones on!);



-switched her out of her newborn cloth diapers and into her "size small" Kissaluvs (which, by the way, are ridiculously cute...so of course I've got pictures!);



-had Valentine's day (I got Prof-Man a camcorder...once we've got some video clips edited, I'll start posting them on the blog...but for now, we'll be posting the videos on our "gallery" -- for those of you who don't have the link and want to see the videos, just send me and email and I'll forward it on);

-Prof-Man got me beautiful roses for Valentine's day and got orange gerber daisies for Kennedy and Jackie (here's Kennedy posing with her flowers!);

(For the life of me, I can't get this dang picture to rotate...so before I throw mylaptop across the room and wake up the baby, I'm going to just suck it up and leave it the way it is...just turn your head...you get the idea!) :)

-I made a pot roast for Valentine's day dinner (tasty, but I won't make the recipe again...the veg were a little on the bland side); and

-Kennedy had her "3 month birthday" (and no, I'm not so nerdy that I celebrated in any kind of way...though I did take a couple of pictures so that we'd have them).


Kennedy has really taken to looking at herself in the mirror. It's hilarious...she's not so modest, that one! :) She has figured out that she can see mommy and daddy in the mirror and/or in person...she'll look at me, then flip around and look in the mirror at me and smile! The mirror thing really necessitates more pictures (ugh, this is another one of THOSE posts!)...


I love this new side-lying position...makes me think she's going to roll from back-to-front soon...but I kind of doubt it since she very rarely rolls from front-to-back (she's really only done it once or twice since that first day).


On her 3 month birthday, Kennedy giggled for the first time! She's had the odd "ha" before (but we really couldn't tell if it was a laugh or just a modified grunt!)...but when I was putting her in her car seat to go to Ikea, I was singing a ridiculous song about her having "stinky tooties" and she had "ha ha ha" chuckle! It was awesome...so of course I hollered for Prof-Man to come and witness...which he did...but we weren't able to capture it on film, because as soon as Prof-Man turned the camera on, she clammed right up! Boo! Anyways, it wasn't a full rolling over laugh...but it's a start (which has, of course, resulted it me acting like a total moron on a daily basis trying to coax another laugh out of her)!

And with that, I'm out. Have a physio appointment to get ready for (shudder...today we're doing a real time ultrasound of my muscles to see if everything is progressing as it should). I'll try to be a more diligent blogger again...I'm feeling very crafty these days though, so I may try to spend my free time building a memory box and/or scrapbook for the Little Miss...we'll see...

...okay, a few more pictures because I can't help myself!



Wednesday, February 9, 2011

Is it the murthur-furkin crib or the murthur-furkin teeth?

Well Kennedy is having a peach of a day today. Good times. Right now she's nodded off (for who knows how long) while listening to some lovely Baroque music (have I mentioned that I hate Baroque music -- it is definitely the least awesome of the classical sub-genres...but apparently Baroque is good for brain development, so here we are).

I've been blaming the last few nights of erratic sleep patterns on moving her to her crib, but this morning, something occurred to me: "Oh for the love of all things holy...could she actually be teething already?" It's possible...teething can start anytime between 3 months and a year...ugh.

Someone (unfortunately I completely cannot remember who) asked me the other day (after seeing something in her gums that I am incapable of seeing) if she was teething...I said, "umm, I don't think so...(insert picture of me looking sheepish for not knowing enough!)" but of course I had no idea (was hoping that maybe she was miraculously going to get through that phase without any fussiness or pain!).

I should preface this whole discussion with the point that it is completely possible that whoever asked if she was teething has just put the idea in my head, and now I'm seeing things that aren't there...but I don't think I am...the symptoms are there...the question is whether they are symptoms of teething or just being over-tired and not feeling 100%.

Here are the symptoms:
-excessive drooling (it's ridiculous...she's constantly soaking...through her bib even);
-not sleeping like she used to (for the last month, she's been sleeping between 7 and 10 hours per night without waking...well now, I'm lucky if I can get 4 hours out of her...last night, she was up every 1.5-2 hours...)
-pushing away from the boob (she's normally a big eater, but this morning, she pushed away crying...I thought that maybe she had an upset stomach or was over-tired...but apparently this can be a symptom of teething because the sucking actually aggrevates their sore little gums);
-general irritability (yup...'nuf said!); and
-chewing on anything in sight (i.e. her fist, fingers, bib, etc...unfortunately she hasn't mastered the art of grasping toys yet, so she can't chew them...but I'm sure she would if she could).

Now call me a bad mommy, but I can't tell if she has swollen or red gums, because I don't inspect her gums on a daily basis...I can't remember what they looked like before and if they look any different...so I can't tell if she has the most obvious symptom. Whoops. I can't tell if she has little white dots or whatever teeth are supposed to look like before they cut through...because I thought her gums looked weird before (i.e. it's looked like teeth were on their way for a long time...but that's probably just what baby gums look like!).

So she's either teething or she's just a major grump (or she has an upset stomach or something). Either way, it makes for sleepless nights and long days.

I'm supposed to be going to my fitness class soon, but I'm both selfish and not..."not selfish" because I want to give the poor babe a chance to sleep if she's not feeling well (though as I type this, she just woke up to chew her fist and grunt again)...and "selfish" because she's such a bear this morning that I don't see the point in taking her (she's just going to fuss and cry and I won't get a workout...so why bother with the frustration). Okay, she just fell back asleep...(after only about 15 seconds of fist-chewing)...so I'm going to skip fitness today (we'll just go for a long walk later and/or I'll get my lazy arse onto the Wii-fit thingy).

Here's the issue I have with the teething possibility. The mommies on the "interwebs" say that the duration of teething pre-cut can range from a few days to a few months!? A few monhs? Are you freakin' kidding me? This cannot last a few months...I don't have the patience!?

I guess we'll just have to wait and see...

Monday, February 7, 2011

We wuz rollin'!

Baby-Bean a.k.a. Red Dragon a.k.a. K-Diggity a.k.a. Monkey (or Monkey Face or Monkey Fluff) a.k.a. Kennedy rolled for the first time this morning!!! Yay!

She was having some play time in her little play gym (or whatever they call the little baby mats these days), when I decided it was time for some tummy time (so not her favorite). I rolled her over (I've been trying to do that instead of just plopping her on her tummy so that she gets the feel of rolling)...she looked around for a while (head was crazy high = very impressed mommy!)...then decided she didn't love the position and rolled to her left side to get back to her back! I wasn't sure if it was just a gravity/balance thing, so I rolled her back over to her tummy and made sure she was steady there. She looked around and started rolling again (at which point I grabbed the camera and starting snapping!).









We practiced the left roll 4 or 5 more times before she got tired and annoyed with the game (this was clearly a game that mommy enjoyed much more than she did!). We'll try again after she wakes up from her nap!

So exciting!

And since I'm pulling pictures off the camera...here are a few more!

Jackie's still smitten with her little sister!



Kennedy loves her Grandpa (or so claims the shirt)...



...here's proof!



One last one...maybe I should stop feeding her baby beers -- she looks hammered!



(PS -- Night #2 in the crib was no more successful than the first...only 4 hours for the first nighttime sleep, followed by another 4...hoping to get back up to her average 7-9 hours sometime soon!)

Sunday, February 6, 2011

In her own crib now...sniff sniff...

I had a little cry last night when I put Kennedy down for her nighttime sleep in her own crib. Last night was her first night in her own room in the crib (instead of in the basinette in our room).

Sniff sniff.

I know it's silly to cry (and I knew it as I was crying)...but I couldn't help myself...our little baby is growing up way too fast!

(Side note: it was a bit of a rough night...only 5 hours before she woke up for a middle-the-night feeding...but she did go down for 3 hours after that, so I can't complain.)

Friday, February 4, 2011

Rants from Mommyland

(Note: I stole the title for today's post from one of my favorite mommy blogs...read it if you're looking for something more amuzing that the drivel that I'm writing here!)

Okay, I know that most (read: the small handful of people that I actually know are reading this) of you are only on here to see pictures of Kennedy...but I just have to start being more interesting! It's not the my sweet little baby isn't interesting (and the whole point of this blog was to track her progress etc. so that I would have a way to remember everything)...but I'm starting to feel like a terribly boring person...I need to start being sarcastic and snarky (and maybe/hopefully even witty) again.

It starts now (ish)...with a list of my rants today.

(1) Poop smell lingering in Baby-Bean's room. Okay, I realize I just said that I was going to write about something other than Kennedy...but this is about something else...her putrid-smelling poop! When she was first born and in the first few weeks, I commented to several people that baby poop doesn't really smell bad...it just has a musty sweet sort of smell. Well, I'm a filthy liar. I now realize that baby poop reaks. The sweet smell actually has the ability to almost instantly trigger my gag reflex now! I guess I'm over the wonder of her actually being here. The reality has set in. Her shit does, in fact, stink! :)

The worst part of this is that her entire room often has an aura of poop-stink to it. It's lovely. We've tried airing out the room, but that doesn't always do the trick. We wash her cloth diapers every day (and they don't even stay in her room)...so there's not a lot we can do there. I don't want to spray anything in the room because I don't want to irritate her little nostrils...so instead, I'm forced to irritate my own. With poop-stink. Boo.

(2) Diastasis recti abdominis...a.k.a. separated stomach muscles. I got this lovely "injury" (for lack of a better term) either during pregnancy, during the labour or during the c-section...but in any event, it sucks. My stomach muscles still don't work properly which means that my stomach often hurts and my back is constantly killing me. Am now going to physio, so fingers crossed that this makes a difference. Otherwise I'm going be a hunch-back mommy with a weird looking bulge in my stomach forever. Good times.

(3) The "broken windshield" look that my stomach now has (potentially connected to rant #2 above). Thank you stretch marks. I managed to get to 37-38 weeks before these beauties busted out all over my gut. Now I look like a rock hit my belly button and shattered my stomach-skin all the way out to my sides. It's a really pretty look...not unattractive in the least. Poor Prof-Man...he's got that (and possibly worse if/when I get pregnant again) to look at for the rest of his life. I'm using all of the creams and oils, but I seriously doubt they'll do much to help. Time is the only thing that might heal these ugly-ass wounds. The only thing that makes having these hideous scars worth it is the fact that without them, I wouldn't have Kennedy (insert sappy face here). I love that girl a WHOLE LOT more than I hate these scars. But I really do hate these scars. ;)

Okay that's enough negativity for one post.

Wednesday, February 2, 2011

My baby's growing up too quickly already!

Yesterday I packed up most of Kennedy's 0-3 month clothes! It was kind of sad (she's growing up too quickly already)...but I'm also excited because now I get to dress her up in a whole new wardrobe (I was getting bored of the same old sleepers). She's such a long baby that whenever she kicked in her old sleepers, they would stretch and pull in what looked to be an uncomfortable way. So she's into the 3-6 month stuff now (for the most part -- I've kept out the smaller jeans and overalls, since those still seem to fit).

Of course, new clothes calls for another picture or two (sorry!).



(She's smiling at her daddy in this one!)



We're also working more on helping her to reach some developmental milestones (namely, holding her head up, rolling and grasping toys). She hasn't rolled yet, and should apparently have done so (from front to back) by now. Not a big deal, because it could happen any time between 2 and 6 months...but I figure it can't hurt to work on it a little. So we've been doing more tummy time (which she doesn't love)...and then I help her roll so that she knows what it feels like. She's so strong that I think it'll likely happen quickly...but I'm going to have to leave her on the floor more to give her a chance to practice!

As for the toy-holding...that just entails me putting things in her hands for her, and her grunting in frustration because she can't seem to hold on to the toy! :) She'll get it eventually...I can't wait for that, because she'll be able to have a little more fun playing with things.

I'm also really looking forward to her being able to consistently hold her little (okay, not-so-little!) head up. She gets so frustrated that she can't sit up etc. If I could just let her sit in the bumbo seat and play with a toy or something, she'd be happy as a lark. She'd also be able to go in her little activity centre thing...and eventually in the jumparoo! I've managed to get her sitting in the infant seat (with me helping her with her head whenever she needs it), but she gets tired and frustrated after a minute or too. She did, however, manage to sit long enough for another photo op!



Jackie really likes all this floor time (which is part of the frustration and reason that we haven't been doing enough of it!)...she figures the blanket is a good place for her to play as well!