Friday, February 4, 2011

Rants from Mommyland

(Note: I stole the title for today's post from one of my favorite mommy blogs...read it if you're looking for something more amuzing that the drivel that I'm writing here!)

Okay, I know that most (read: the small handful of people that I actually know are reading this) of you are only on here to see pictures of Kennedy...but I just have to start being more interesting! It's not the my sweet little baby isn't interesting (and the whole point of this blog was to track her progress etc. so that I would have a way to remember everything)...but I'm starting to feel like a terribly boring person...I need to start being sarcastic and snarky (and maybe/hopefully even witty) again.

It starts now (ish)...with a list of my rants today.

(1) Poop smell lingering in Baby-Bean's room. Okay, I realize I just said that I was going to write about something other than Kennedy...but this is about something else...her putrid-smelling poop! When she was first born and in the first few weeks, I commented to several people that baby poop doesn't really smell bad...it just has a musty sweet sort of smell. Well, I'm a filthy liar. I now realize that baby poop reaks. The sweet smell actually has the ability to almost instantly trigger my gag reflex now! I guess I'm over the wonder of her actually being here. The reality has set in. Her shit does, in fact, stink! :)

The worst part of this is that her entire room often has an aura of poop-stink to it. It's lovely. We've tried airing out the room, but that doesn't always do the trick. We wash her cloth diapers every day (and they don't even stay in her room)...so there's not a lot we can do there. I don't want to spray anything in the room because I don't want to irritate her little nostrils...so instead, I'm forced to irritate my own. With poop-stink. Boo.

(2) Diastasis recti abdominis...a.k.a. separated stomach muscles. I got this lovely "injury" (for lack of a better term) either during pregnancy, during the labour or during the c-section...but in any event, it sucks. My stomach muscles still don't work properly which means that my stomach often hurts and my back is constantly killing me. Am now going to physio, so fingers crossed that this makes a difference. Otherwise I'm going be a hunch-back mommy with a weird looking bulge in my stomach forever. Good times.

(3) The "broken windshield" look that my stomach now has (potentially connected to rant #2 above). Thank you stretch marks. I managed to get to 37-38 weeks before these beauties busted out all over my gut. Now I look like a rock hit my belly button and shattered my stomach-skin all the way out to my sides. It's a really pretty look...not unattractive in the least. Poor Prof-Man...he's got that (and possibly worse if/when I get pregnant again) to look at for the rest of his life. I'm using all of the creams and oils, but I seriously doubt they'll do much to help. Time is the only thing that might heal these ugly-ass wounds. The only thing that makes having these hideous scars worth it is the fact that without them, I wouldn't have Kennedy (insert sappy face here). I love that girl a WHOLE LOT more than I hate these scars. But I really do hate these scars. ;)

Okay that's enough negativity for one post.

No comments:

Post a Comment