Tuesday, June 29, 2010
Prof-Man felt the wrath of Baby-Bean!
Last night (at 20 weeks and 6 days pregnant), Prof-Man got to feel Baby-Bean kick for the first time!
Baby-Bean was being her usual kickboxing self last night…when I suddenly realized that the kicks were getting stronger. I was talking to Prof-Man about this and he asked when he would be able to feel the kicks just by placing his hand on my belly. We both figured it would be at least a few weeks before the kicks got strong enough to notice from the outside…but I decided to test out our theory.
It only took 15 minutes or so before she was kicking up a storm again, and I realized that I could actually feel the nudges from the outside! Of course the first time I called Prof-Man over, our sneaky little girl stopped kicking almost immediately (I actually think that having a hand on my stomach relaxes her, making her slow down with the kicky-dance). Anyways, we finally managed to get the timing down, and Prof-Man caught a kick!
I could spend days and days just sitting with my hand on my stomach feeling those cute little nudges! Such an amazing feeling! It’s also a real comfort to have daily reminders that everything is going well…I love that Baby-Bean keeps letting me know how she’s doing! She’s making her momma proud already! :)
Monday, June 28, 2010
Raspberry Swirl?
No ladybugs, but I suppose butterflies is an acceptable alternative!

We wouldn't paint the room that greenish colour in the picture. We would likely do an accent wall or two in the purple (not the magenta/hot pink...but the purple colour that's hidden in the pattern)...and then a few canvasses hung in the different colours (magenta, lime green etc). We also wouldn't do the "over-the-top" decorating that has been done in the picture above (despite my love of all things over-the-top!).
Here's a big reason that I love it...the so-called "ceiling sculpture".

And the lamp to go with it!

Any strong feelings about this set? It's not set in stone...just a thought.
Sunday, June 27, 2010
Baby-Bean is going to be such a Little Princess!
Anyways, back to the shopping.
We ordered Baby-Bean's crib and change table today. SO CUTE!!! I was totally into the espresso coloured dark wood...but Grannie and Prof-Man have talked me into the girlie white! I'm shocked...but I absolutely adore it! I'm totally buying into this girlie-stuff thing...it's so much fun! There's a distinct possibility that I'm going to take it overboard though (once I set my mind to something, there's no stopping me!).
Back to the crib...here's a pic. Note the adorable crystal knobs on the drawers (the drawers under the crib was an add on...but totally worth it). The crib is a gift from Grannie and Grandpa.

It's a convertible crib -- first into a toddler bed...then into a double bed later. We actually got the full conversion kit for free today (well...I wouldn't say it was "free"...it was included because we spent a silly amount of money on the crib, drawers and change table!). But it was technically "free"...so that's always nice! I love that this will be Baby-Bean's furniture into the foreseeable future. She may end up painting it etc., but it's neat to think that this will last through her teenage years (must stop thinking that far ahead...time needs to slow down, not speed up!).
Anyways, here's the change table.

I think the colour in both of these pictures is actually the "linen" colour. We decided to go with the "white"...mostly because Prof-Man informed me that our little girl will probably prefer white (off white is an adult colour in his opinion). I liked that he had an opinion on the matter, so we went with the white! (I should note that I actually prefer the white for a totally different reason: it goes with our base boards etc. I'm too "matchy matchy" to handle having white and off-white in the same room (that's a decorating no-no in my world).
Needless to say, I'm super excited about the new furniture. I think it's going to be gorgeous. One more picture...here's the sample nursery with all of the furniture together (we're probably going to ultimately get the shelf piece...but decided that it might be a little much right now...want to get the pieces in there before we decide whether to add more furniture).

So, now the important question is this: What colour should the nursery be!?
One of the sets I've been looking at is a ladybug set that has a sage-mint green accent...might do the walls in that colour. But I also think that purple/violet would look really cute with the white furniture!? I'm really not sure. Any thoughts!? I have to decide soon...because Prof-Man has offered to sand down (one of the walls has some weird lines on it from the last paint job we did) and re-paint the walls...but he won't do so until we choose a colour! Need to take advantage while the offer is still open! :)
Wednesday, June 23, 2010
How am I supposed to learn everything in 20 weeks!?
I have been looking into a ton of different baby-related things this week: birthing books, birthing courses, baby books, diapers (holy mother of pearl are there a lot of different options out there…stupid environment...making me choose to do cloth diapers!), lists of “what you need for baby’s first year”, SIDS (scared the bejeebus out of myself…won’t look into that again any time soon!)…etc…it has all been quite daunting, to be honest.
The more I read, the more I realize I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT I’M DOING!!! Does some sort of maternal instinct kick at some point? Am I supposed to have to get all this information from books?
I’m feeling quite overwhelmed at this point. On top of that, one of the birthing classes I was thinking about enrolling in has now booked up. Just when I think I’ve finally made a decision, turns out I made the decision a little too late! Whoops! There’s still one other session that I could take, but it doesn’t end until mid-October…which makes me a little nervous (what if Baby-Bean arrives early – I know that’s rare for first babies, but it’s still completely within the realm of possibility!).
I realize that I still have 20 weeks…but I really wanted to get a bunch of this stuff dealt with early so that I could relax later on (when I get bigger and more exhausted).
Did I mention that I’m feeling overwhelmed!? Writing about it has actually made it worse…so I think I had better stop now!
I had also wanted to start cooking some meals to freeze, but now that we’re staying in our townhouse (with no deep freeze), that plan is looking less and less likely…which is unfortunate. I guess that’s one less thing on my “to do” list…but cooking is something that I enjoy right now (and I’d like to make use of that enjoyment while I still have so much “me” time!). I'm still thinking about hunting for a miniature deep freeze to keep in our pantry...not sure if that exists though (and if it does, whether it would be worth it).
I think that what I really need is a little retail therapy…but Prof-Man has been too busy this week…and I’m not sure that he would get as much satisfaction from buying cute little girl things as I would. We’ll see…I’m going to try to get out for a little shopping this weekend.
Monday, June 21, 2010
Bring on the Ladybugs!
Prof-Man and I were correct in our "ultrasound-technician-like" expertise! Baby-Bean is a Baby-Girl! Yay!
Bring on the LADYBUGS!!!
Not sure how these things tie together?
Well, Prof-Man won't like this...but I have a serious obsession with all things ladybug, and having a baby girl means that I can indulge that obsession without looking like a total freak! So fun!
Normal people would start buying all things pink...but I'm not that crazy about pink (or any pastels for that matter)...I'm more of a primary colours gal. That coupled with the fact that I'm not all that "normal"...and you get a baby room full of ladybugs (as long as I can convince Prof-Man that it won't look too creepy!).
Sorry, but I really am still incredibly busy at work, so that's all I have time for...just wanted to let anyone know who couldn't hear me shouting it from the rooftops this morning!
Yay for baby girls!!!
Friday, June 18, 2010
Still don't know if Baby-Bean is a he or a she!
In the meantime...here are some of the shots of beautiful Baby-Bean!
This first one is actually from 8 weeks...just up as a comparison (Baby-Bean literally looked like a bean at that point!).

These next shots are from this afternoon...Baby-Bean likes to stay pretty curled up (with one arm up by his/her face). This is the "alien" shot (Baby-Bean is looking at us head-on!).
And some profile shots (I know...they all look the same, but give me a break, I'm excited and proud!).


And finally...an adorable little foot...Baby-Bean is a real little kicker (though he/she is a sleepy-head during the day so not a ton of movement for us to ooh and ahh over during the ultrasound session!).
UPDATE: Midwife's office is closed on Fridays...so no news until Monday. Boo! I don't think I mentioned it above, but we got a pretty clear shot, and I'm 99% sure it's a girl...but I'm no ultrasound technician...so I can't say conclusively! Only a few more days...then I can start shopping like a mad-woman!
Thursday, June 17, 2010
It really is a Baby Bump!
That said, I had to put up a quick post because I’m grinning ear-to-ear right now! One of the ladies at work just saw me and said “Oh my goodness…Baby!”. I could not be more excited! She was the first person (who didn’t already know) that has actually identified my pudgy-looking blob of a stomach as a baby-bump! That completely made my day (which is saying a lot, because I’ve been stomping around in full Gargamel fashion all day...like I said, work is just way too crazy right now!). Anyways…gotta get back at it.
I’ll update tomorrow after my ultrasound appointment!
Friday, June 11, 2010
Holy addicted, Batman!
Yesterday afternoon I was drowning in my regular pit of exhaustion…so I decided to break down and get a coffee. Tsk tsk, you say. Well, let me qualify that: a decaf coffee (actually, a decaf non-fat latte). Now for most people, decaf is a sad replacement for the real thing…but let me tell you…when you haven’t had caffeine in months (and months!), the little blast of caffeine that you get in the decaf can really do the trick!
All I have to say is: holy mother of pearl – caffeine is AWESOME!!!
I’m not sure if it was the caffeine or some sort of placebo effect (or maybe just the smell and taste pulled me out of my preggo-coma)…but I was a machine yesterday afternoon! I worked like a mad-woman – I was able to concentrate (for the first time in months!) – I got tons of work done – I stayed late and worked even more! Thankfully, I also managed to fall asleep normally last night (despite the caffeine buzz that had been with me most of the afternoon/evening).
Oddly enough, I actually feel rejuvenated today as well! I woke up this morning at 6:30 to come in to work for a couple of meetings (albeit on my “vacation day”)…and am feeling lively, chipper and awake! It’s crazy! It’s like all my body/brain needed was a little “hit” of caffeine (oy, I sound like a freakin’ heroin addict!)…my decaf non-fat lattee took the “edge” off, and I’m suddenly able to function again! Who knew I was that addicted!
I’m not sure what to do about this whole situation though…I don’t really want to drink too much coffee (even decaf)…I really want to stay away from the stuff (because (a) it’s not good for Baby-Bean, and (b) since I got pregnant, I’ve had even worse migraines than usual…and the caffeine only makes them worse)…but my status as an employed and functioning member of society may require that I feed my addiction…even if it’s just with the odd decaf!
Mmm…speaking of coffee, now I totally want another!
Wednesday, June 9, 2010
Do we have a future soccer player on our hands?
For weeks I have been feeling the “fluttery feelings” but have been unsure whether they were actually signs of Baby-Bean moving or whether they were just signs of my ever-present preggo-gas (hee hee…I clearly have no pride!). I was excited at the prospect of the flutters being something real…but I couldn’t be sure.
Well the distinct “thumps” I have now started feeling are much clearer. I am 90% certain that these are our little jumping bean practicing his or her soccer/football/kickboxing kicks! Such a cool (albeit weird) feeling…sometimes it actually kind of hurts? Not in a “ouch that’s painful, Baby-Bean, stop kicking your mama!” way…but in a “ugh, that was kind of an uncomfortable feeling (like a tiny pygmy giving me an swift internal kick in the gut)” way.
Is it bad that I’ve sort of started taunting Baby-Bean in the hopes that he or she will kick me? Not taunting in a cruel way (I’m not talking myself up to be much of a future mother, am I?)…I’ll just trickle my fingers across my stomach to see if he or she reacts…or if I feel a kick, I’ll lightly rub that area of my stomach to see if Baby-Bean will kick back (or get curious and swim over for a visit!). I think it’s still too early to expect the kinds of reactions I’m hoping for! I’ve heard that drinking a cold drink will get Baby-Bean moving…but I haven’t resorted to that yet (nobody likes a cold shower!).
I’m so excited for the time when Baby-Bean moves more consistently so that I know he or she is doing well in there – that will be really fun (and really reassuring!).
Tuesday, June 8, 2010
Me and my Pregnancy Pizza Face
So, back to griping it is.
I have heard so many lovely things about the “pregnancy glow” that women are supposed to get. It’s apparently caused by the hormones generating oil secretions. Well, lucky me, my “glow” has taken the form of a pizza face. Awesome.
I guess it would have been too much to ask to be one of those beautiful pregnant ladies whose skin is radiant and perfect (along with their perfect little bumps…instead of fat sacks of fat like I currently have (praying for a cute baby bump to make itself seen at some point)). Instead, the oil secretions have given me painful and plentiful tumors (err, pimples) all over my face. I’m a real sight to be seen.
Cover-up does no good (and I’m not even sure cover-up is a “do” during pregnancy…but don’t anyone burst my bubble unless it’s going to cause Baby-Bean to grow a third eye)…there aren’t many pregnancy-friendly face washes out there (can’t use the hard core stuff because it’s a pregnancy “don’t”). So I just have to live with the ugliness.
If I ever do decide to get those fancy preggo-lady pictures done, they’re going to have to do some serious air-brushing! ;)
All whining aside…today I welcome Baby-Bean to WEEK 18!!! Less than 2 weeks until the big ultrasound – can’t wait! I still haven’t decided if I should post the gender here. If anyone is averse to finding out the gender, speak now (well, within the next week and a half) or forever hold your peace!
I’m always a little surprised by people who take offense to those of us “surprise-ruiners” who feel the need to find out the gender of our babies before they’re born. It’s not your baby – why take offense!? Besides…I don’t feel that I’m ruining any surprise at all – Prof-Man and I will be very surprised next Friday when we find out the gender (assuming Baby-Bean gives us the “money shot” (sorry if that term offends anyone!)).
Okay, this entry is all over the map…blame it on the baby-brain and/or lack of sleep (got somewhere in the realm of 2 hours last night...good times!)…so me and my pizza face will stop rambling now.
Monday, June 7, 2010
Baby Brain, Exhaustion or Sheer Laziness?
I think it is strictly an exhaustion thing (but it has also managed to manifest itself in my becoming forgetful and absentminded…two things that are not really typical for my “Type A” personality!).
This does not bode well for my productivity levels at work. Thankfully, I’m more productive than average when feeling “normal”…(not to toot my own horn or anything -- hee hee)…so I’m probably only slightly below average now…but still, this is getting embarrassing. It is almost noon and I haven’t managed to do a single productive thing at work today (I’m sure blogging doesn’t count!).
The problem is that despite feeling guilty about my lack of productivity, I also lack the desire to make any changes! I can’t seem to gather enough steam to do much of anything!
I think it’s probably exhaustion caused by a combination of lack of caffeine and lack of sleep. I’m normally a caffeine freak at work (boring, nerdy tax law job = need caffeine to stay alert!)…and I haven’t even been drinking decaf (the only exception being a decaf cappuccino at a client dinner that kept me up most of that night -- lesson learned!). So, it’s non-fat vanilla steamed milk for me (was tasty, but now is just boring and possibly making me even more sleepy…warm milk before a nap, anyone!?). The sleep thing may be even worse (no sleep = brain not functioning properly). I can’t remember the last time I slept through the night (other than possibly pre-pregnancy). If it’s not a burning hip, sore neck or arm falling asleep, it’s trying to roll over only to be woken up by “round ligament pain” (read: piercing, almost tearing pain in my side and/or stomach). I don’t actually mind the lack of sleep thing…I can deal with it (I’m happy to make whatever sacrifices I have to for Baby-Bean)…but that in combination with having to get up and go to work at a relatively boring job (that I really don't love most days...and can honestly barely tolerate other days) everyday...well that makes for a problem.
(Creepy side note: just got the worst déjà vu ever – I went so far as to check the blog to see if I had already written this before…now I’m starting to wonder if I’m just losing my mind entirely!?).
Anyways…my lack of interest/concentration has once again taken over, and I’m bored of this post (seriously contemplating deleting it, but I likely wouldn’t have the gusto to start up a new one…so I’ll leave it!). Hopefully I have something more interesting to say tomorrow!
Friday, June 4, 2010
Am I just going to end up with very well-moisturized stretch marks?
I’ve been doing my research, and the consensus seems to be that stretch marks are actually hereditary. If that’s true, you either get them or you don’t – there’s nothing you can do about it. I’ve decided that that’s all fine and good, but I’m not giving up without a fight! My mom claims that she didn’t get any stretch marks, so I may be safe…but I’ve heard stories of people whose mothers didn’t get stretch marks, but they were “blessed” (read: cursed) with the things in any event.
I figure it’s always better to be safe than sorry. It’s not like over-moisturizing is going to cause me or Baby-Bean any harm! I mean it’s not like I’m going to run across a random “slip ‘n’ slide” in my daily travels…then decide to take a run at it…overshoot the thing (failing to account for the slimy lubed-up belly!) and crash into whatever’s at the end of the tarp (and by tarp, I do, of course, mean the lovely bright yellow plastic strip that was so cleverly marketed as a toy when I was a child)…in my imaginary escapade the obstacle at the end of the tarp is a gathering of garbage cans filled with stinky garbage.
Side Note: I just checked out the website for the Slip ‘n’ Slide, and there have been crazy upgrades since I was a kid (Baby-Bean will be in for a real treat if we have a backyard big enough for one of these!). Whatever happened to the plain on tarp I was imagining!? Seriously, take a look!
I should also note that apparently there doesn’t need to be an obstacle at the end for this little trip to end in disaster…this gentleman seems to have found out the hard way (I wonder if he had an over-moisturized belly!?).
Okay the vivid dreams are now turning into vivid daydreams! I have issues…and clearly, I digress! To get back on track: I think that the daily gentle belly massage will probably be very soothing to us both!
The real question boiled down to “what concoction should I buy”? Tough one…everyone has an opinion. I could just use regular old moisturizer or body butter…or I could go to the other end of the spectrum and buy some ridiculously expensive “miracle” cream. I chose to go with the one with the pregnant lady on the lid (inexpensive and full of good stuff like cocoa butter, vitamin E, elastin, etc.)! I’m a sucker for marketing! Actually, I made the choice based on the advice of a friend who is on her third pregnancy and hasn’t had any noticeable stretch marks from any of them. Like I said, it could just be good genes…but I’m willing to give it a try!
Now begins the task of trying to remember to grease up my belly up at least once a day. I’ve managed to get into the habit of taking my prenatal vitamins, so I figure this is just one more habit to add to the schedule! Maybe I’ll be able to coax Prof-Man into helping (free massage for me + chance for him to bond with Baby-Bean!)…we’ll see.
Thursday, June 3, 2010
Lady-Lawyer and her Raging Hunger!
It's not even 12:00, and I have already managed to inhale my entire lunch…not a small lunch, I might add!
I started out the day with my regular bowl of cereal with skim milk (normally that will get me through to mid-morning). Got to work, and was hungry already, so I had a yogurt. Unfortunately, that didn’t even put a dent in my hunger, so I had one of the three slices of whole wheat chicken “pizza” that I had brought (I say “pizza”, because it’s the healthy thin crust bake-at-home type stuff that isn’t at all greasy and probably doesn’t have a ton of calories). Decided that I should slow down…but I couldn’t, so I had an apple. The combination of the above managed to hold me off for about an hour. Then at 11:30, I decided it was perfectly appropriate to eat the rest of my lunch (two more pieces of pizza and another yogurt). I still have my granola bar (phew!)…but I fear it won’t last much longer, because I’m STILL starving!?
Maybe I’m going to give birth to a tape worm?
Baby-Bean must be going through a serious growth spurt today or something…I’ve never felt anything like this! I really haven’t been overly hungry (any more than usual) before today…but now: insanity! I'm so hungry that I can barely concentrate. No amount of food seems to be helping!?
I’ll likely have to go home early this afternoon, because I tend to get queasy when I’m hungry and I don’t eat…fingers crossed that at some point this afternoon, all of the food I’ve eaten today hits my stomach and makes me feel at least a little bit full!
Guard your sandwiches people…Lady-Lawyer is on the loose!
Wednesday, June 2, 2010
Comfort (in two ways)!
Had my 17 week appointment with the midwife yesterday, and all is going as it should! Baby-Bean still has a perfect little heartbeat (150 BPM) and things are measuring as they should. Bottom line is: (a) I finally feel like I can relax and enjoy this pregnancy, and (b) it's time to celebrate and buy some fatso clothes!!!
Okay, I’m sure a lot of pregnant women don’t appreciate the term “fatso clothes”…but I will wear these with pride (and an amazing degree of comfort)! Prior to yesterday’s acquisitions, I was wearing my regular clothes…not comfy. More often than not, I would get through the first quarter of the day unscathed…but by late morning, the button would be undone (“ahh”)…then by mid-afternoon, the zipper would also have to be released (even more “ahh”)! Not so classy (but not particularly surprising if you know me)! :)
So no more classless undone pants at work and out among friends. Now I have some elastic waistlines that will expand with me over the coming months (is it sad that my maternity pants are cuter than my regular pants?)! Yay!