I don’t know if “baby brain” is real and if it is, when it is supposed to happen (can it happen during pregnancy or is it only after childbirth?)…but I have become completely useless of late. I cannot concentrate on any single thing for more than about 5 minutes (without either getting bored, distracted or tired). Even writing this blog entry has been excruciating!
I think it is strictly an exhaustion thing (but it has also managed to manifest itself in my becoming forgetful and absentminded…two things that are not really typical for my “Type A” personality!).
This does not bode well for my productivity levels at work. Thankfully, I’m more productive than average when feeling “normal”…(not to toot my own horn or anything -- hee hee)…so I’m probably only slightly below average now…but still, this is getting embarrassing. It is almost noon and I haven’t managed to do a single productive thing at work today (I’m sure blogging doesn’t count!).
The problem is that despite feeling guilty about my lack of productivity, I also lack the desire to make any changes! I can’t seem to gather enough steam to do much of anything!
I think it’s probably exhaustion caused by a combination of lack of caffeine and lack of sleep. I’m normally a caffeine freak at work (boring, nerdy tax law job = need caffeine to stay alert!)…and I haven’t even been drinking decaf (the only exception being a decaf cappuccino at a client dinner that kept me up most of that night -- lesson learned!). So, it’s non-fat vanilla steamed milk for me (was tasty, but now is just boring and possibly making me even more sleepy…warm milk before a nap, anyone!?). The sleep thing may be even worse (no sleep = brain not functioning properly). I can’t remember the last time I slept through the night (other than possibly pre-pregnancy). If it’s not a burning hip, sore neck or arm falling asleep, it’s trying to roll over only to be woken up by “round ligament pain” (read: piercing, almost tearing pain in my side and/or stomach). I don’t actually mind the lack of sleep thing…I can deal with it (I’m happy to make whatever sacrifices I have to for Baby-Bean)…but that in combination with having to get up and go to work at a relatively boring job (that I really don't love most days...and can honestly barely tolerate other days) everyday...well that makes for a problem.
(Creepy side note: just got the worst déjà vu ever – I went so far as to check the blog to see if I had already written this before…now I’m starting to wonder if I’m just losing my mind entirely!?).
Anyways…my lack of interest/concentration has once again taken over, and I’m bored of this post (seriously contemplating deleting it, but I likely wouldn’t have the gusto to start up a new one…so I’ll leave it!). Hopefully I have something more interesting to say tomorrow!
I think it's hard to get motivated for a boring job when you have such an exciting one on the near horizon. With your mind starting to get into nest building mode being stuck at a desk is just not an optimal situation. I think you should take a nice relaxing walk on your lunch break.
ReplyDelete