I’m writing this a day late, because I was crazy-busy at work yesterday, and shockingly didn’t have time for blogging (What? You did work while at work!?).
Yesterday afternoon I was drowning in my regular pit of exhaustion…so I decided to break down and get a coffee. Tsk tsk, you say. Well, let me qualify that: a decaf coffee (actually, a decaf non-fat latte). Now for most people, decaf is a sad replacement for the real thing…but let me tell you…when you haven’t had caffeine in months (and months!), the little blast of caffeine that you get in the decaf can really do the trick!
All I have to say is: holy mother of pearl – caffeine is AWESOME!!!
I’m not sure if it was the caffeine or some sort of placebo effect (or maybe just the smell and taste pulled me out of my preggo-coma)…but I was a machine yesterday afternoon! I worked like a mad-woman – I was able to concentrate (for the first time in months!) – I got tons of work done – I stayed late and worked even more! Thankfully, I also managed to fall asleep normally last night (despite the caffeine buzz that had been with me most of the afternoon/evening).
Oddly enough, I actually feel rejuvenated today as well! I woke up this morning at 6:30 to come in to work for a couple of meetings (albeit on my “vacation day”)…and am feeling lively, chipper and awake! It’s crazy! It’s like all my body/brain needed was a little “hit” of caffeine (oy, I sound like a freakin’ heroin addict!)…my decaf non-fat lattee took the “edge” off, and I’m suddenly able to function again! Who knew I was that addicted!
I’m not sure what to do about this whole situation though…I don’t really want to drink too much coffee (even decaf)…I really want to stay away from the stuff (because (a) it’s not good for Baby-Bean, and (b) since I got pregnant, I’ve had even worse migraines than usual…and the caffeine only makes them worse)…but my status as an employed and functioning member of society may require that I feed my addiction…even if it’s just with the odd decaf!
Mmm…speaking of coffee, now I totally want another!
I don't think it was the coffee. I think you were just a little late arriving into that wonderful 2nd trimester when you feel good and full of energy.
ReplyDeleteFingers crossed that you're right -- my productivity levels could really use a 2nd trimester boost!
ReplyDelete