Friday, August 27, 2010

I'm still alive...just busy!

I've been trying to be a diligent little worker bee lately, so have been avoiding blogging during work hours...(and am generally too tired to be bothered with blogging in the mornings or evenings)...but I'm just too excited to work right now!

Baby-Bean's nursery furniture (minus the glider which was ordered from a different store) is set to arrive next week! Woo hoo! We ordered it back at the end of June, and there is an 8-16 week delivery window, so I'm ectatic that the furniture is arriving well in advance of the 16 week deadline! I've actually pushed the delivery back a week to September 10th, because our carpet is being replaced on September 3 (no point in moving the furniture twice!). The delivery guys will also be setting everything up for us (no additional charge) -- which means no tools or hassle necessary! So exciting!

I'm particularly excited because having the drawers means that I can really start planning out the room...and having most of the furniture in place will give us a better idea of what to put on the walls (and where). Baby-Bean's room will be all ready to go by the end of September (ha, let's not kid ourselves, I'll have that room set up the evening of the 10th!). I can't wait!

On a totally unrelated note, I wanted to write about a really nice lady on the bus this morning. I'm usually a total cow about bus riding...I absolutely loathe having to take the bus to and from work every day. The bus is smelly and uncomfortable, and as a preggo-lady, I've found that it makes me bitchy and nauseous. The nausea is a motion sickness thing that has gotten worse throughout the pregnancy. The bitchiness thing results from an observation that people will actually go out of their way to avoid looking at a pregnant lady so that they don't have to give up their seat. I watch it every day. One day I'm going to say something. I generally just leave it, because I can still stand on my own two feet (unless I get too dizzy and/or nauseous)...but as things progress, I'm guessing that I'll be in no mood for standing on a crowded bus...at that point I'm going to start making snarky remarks about people getting off of their lazy arses.

Anyhoo...that's my gripe...but I was actually trying to write about a nice woman this morning. I got on the bus (tons of empty seats this morning = not grumpy!) and sat down with a bit of a grimace. I had been having pretty strong/sharp round ligament pains (or something like that) and was fairly uncomfortable. It didn't occur to me to hide my discomfort (didn't think anyone would take notice and I honestly didn't think I was making that much of a face). About 5 minutes into the ride, a woman came over and asked me if I was doing okay and/or need any help. I think she thought I was going into labour or something!? Apparently my grimace looked a lot worse from the outside (I didn't even notice I was making a face!). I smiled and told her everything was fine...that there were good and bad comfort days, and this was just one of the latter. When I got off the bus, I made a point of thanking her for being so kind and helpful though...it's so rare that people actually care enough to go out of their way to check on a person's well-being. I was touched (though quite embarrassed). :)

Okay that's all for now. Back to work for me. Hi-ho...hi-ho...

Wednesday, August 18, 2010

3...is a magic number!

Love that song (well, love the remake of that song that Blind Melon did for the "School House Rock Rocks" album...maybe I'm dating myself...man I miss grunge!) :)



Wow, there's a digression if I ever saw one! The whole point of this post is that I'm officially, no matter how you count it, in my 3rd trimester now! I'm over 28 weeks...crazy!

So what lovely joys does the third trimester have in store for me!? Well, the heart burn has officially gotten horrible! I wouldn't say it's unbearable, because I'm still alive, and I can still eat and drink without wanting to squeal in pain...but it's definitely painful and annoying (to say the least). I've been chomping down on Tums (which the midwife says are perfectly fine...and in fact are good because of the added calcium)...but am limited to 5 of those per day. Well 5 simply does not cut it!? I don't have any while at work (work sucks either way...might as well suffer through some heartburn on top of the boredom and/or work-related-stress). I try not to take any until after dinner (by then I've already had pretty bad heartburn for about 6 hours and feel that I deserve a little relief!). The other night, I had already taken 4 when I discovered the 5 tablet limit...I was none too impressed when I realized that I could only take one more to get me through the night (sleep is, of course, the worst because heartburn is particularly bad when one is lying down). Haven't made that mistake since...I save at least 2-3 for nighttime. Good times. But nothing too terrible...just "uncomfortable".

Other than that, not much new physically. Getting bigger by the second (but I still find that to be fun for the most part!)...stomach is getting harder and tighter every day (usually harder and tighter by the end of the day, but I'm guessing that's either swelling or Baby-Bean changing positions in the afternoons!).

I officially walk like an idiot. The waddle is inevitable. It's weird...you can try all you want to walk like a normal person, but the combination of extra weight in awkward places and "relaxin" (that lovely hormone that makes your body fall apart in preparation for labour) means that the only comfortable way to walk is to waddle. I look like a tool. Again, it's all totally worth it! :)

I'm actually really loving pregnancy. Don't get me wrong, I'm super excited to meet Baby-Bean and be able to drink cafeine (and WINE!) again, but I'm really not in that much of a rush. I'm enjoying this...and am going to try to savour these last 12 weeks (or so).

I was all excited to get to start the more frequent midwife appointments (I thought that would start around 28 weeks)...but apparently my midwife is either lazy or doesn't think the extra appointments are necessary, because I had an appointment last week (at 27 weeks) and my next one isn't until 32 weeks!? Oh well...I guess I should be happy that I don't have to waste time going to extra appointments (it's not like they're particularly eventful in any case).

What else?

Tons of stuff getting done around the house lately. As mentioned in a previous post, Prof-Man is on fire lately! I think he's "nesting" (is that something dads do as well?). Lots of painting, cleaning, organizing, purging of crap we don't need, fixing things that needed fixing (doorbells, light fixtures etc.). He's basically (with only a tiny bit of help from me when I get home from work) getting the entire place ready for Baby-Bean's arrival. When she gets here, we won't have anything left to do but "be parents" (which is good, because I'm sure we wouldn't have time for much else...at least not at the begining)!

Also got a ton of hand-me-down clothes from Prof-Man's sister (thanks!), from her two daughters...our adorable little nieces! There is an overwhelming amount of clothing in stacks in Baby-Bean's room. We could open up a clothing store! :) Last night I started the laundry. I'm working in reverse order...starting with the clothes for a year or so from now (they'll get washed, sorted, folded and packed up in Baby-Bean's closet for future use). Hopefully in the next week or so, I'll manage to get through the piles and get that all sorted out. The only thing I'm leaving for now is the 0-3 months stuff...and that's only because that will all be going in the new chest of drawers (that hasn't arrived yet).

After the clothes, I've got some toys to sort through...most of which are also hand-me-downs from Prof-Man's sister (another huge thanks is in order!). Haven't figured out what I'm going to do with toys yet. Prof-Man and I are kind of neat-freaks ("everything in its place"). I think the only solution is to get a toy chest/trunk or something. Somewhere that the toys can be hidden when we want to pretend that our house is back to its neat and tidy "child-free" origins. Right now, we'll use a tupperware bin in the closet...but my guess is that we'll need something more accessible in the future...maybe I'll take a hunt around on the Costco website (I seem to recall a storage bench that might work). Hee hee...I can always find an excuse to spend money!

Things are moving right along...we're starting to feel more and more prepared (despite a daunting list of things that still need to be done). It's all so much fun though! Less than 85 days to go (depending on when Baby-Bean decides to join us!).

Sunday, August 15, 2010

Sugar is still my friend!

Forgot to mention (was far too excited about the 3d ultrasound) that I passed my G-D test last week. That means that sugary delights are still on the menu (thank goodness...not sure I could deal with a full sugar restriction). The sweet cravings haven't gone away yet (just polished off a wagon wheel!)...but I'm trying to keep things reasonable (i.e. one wagon wheel per day is more than enough!).

While I could write more, the office is rockin' hot tonight (we've had quite the weather this weekend...I think today it finally caught up with me...I didn't enjoy the heat so much today...should've tried to get out and do something, but I just couldn't be bothered!). So, I'll sign off for now. I'll try to update more tomorrow (though I make no promises, as I had a record low week in terms of productivity last week, so I've really got to get some things done at work tomorrow!).

Wednesday, August 11, 2010

She's flexible...but not fond of having her picture taken!

3D ultrasound "take 2" has been booked for 2 weeks from now. We were offered a re-do at no cost, since Baby-Bean (aka Red Dragon) decided that she would put everything between her face and the ultrasound wand. She was folded up like a pretzel! Weird thing is that at 27 weeks, she has plenty of room in there, so there's no need to be so folded up! She seems to just enjoy being basically folded in half! She spent most of the session sucking on (we could literally see her mouth moving in sucking motions) her knee! She moved around a ton, but unfortunately, really didn't give us any great photos.

Here's the one decent one that we were able to get (love those chubby cheeks!).

(I should note that her nose isn't naturally that squished -- she's got it pressed up against the placenta!)

Hopefully we have better luck next time. She should be starting to move her head down south by then, so she'll likely have less room to hide behind her legs...we'll see!

Have I mentioned how awesome Prof-Man is?

This post is overdue...I meant to write it last week, but never got around to it. I have to rave about my husband for a moment if you don't mind! :)

As a professor (hence my oh-so-clever name for him), Prof-Man gets most of his summers off (and by "summer", I don't mean the regular "teacher summer"...we're talking 4 blissful months!). This summer, Prof-Man actually had to work...well, in professor terms, he had to work. What I mean is, he took on a couple of courses that were on a compressed summer schedule (which means he had to teach for 6 intensive weeks). This was kind of nice for me (in all my selfish glory), because I no longer had my usual "I hate my job, why do I do this crap" moment at the begining of the summer when Prof-Man was off. Instead, I had a semi-gloating moment because Prof-Man actually had to work in June! Tsk tsk...shouldn't be such a petty, jealous wife. :)

Okay, this doesn't sound like much of a rave, does it? I'm getting there...don't get your knickers in a knot!

As soon as Prof-Man finished teaching for the summer, he got his well-deserved week of video games (I don't begrudge him that at all...and I'm not being sarcastic when I say that -- he needs the break!). The last couple of weeks (maybe longer -- I'm losing track), however, he's been on fire! He has painted the accent wall in Baby-Bean's room, painted two walls in the den, painted the ceiling in the den, and painted all of the trim upstairs!!! Every day, I come home to a new surprise! Even now, when he's taking a break from painting, I get home and he's cleaned the bathrooms or something equally impressive!

I wanted a record of this, since this has been his most productive summer since we've been married -- I'm loving it! :)

On top of his awesomeness around the house, Prof-Man is being a good preggo-lady's-husband...and is allowing me (read: enabling me!) to indulge in some of my preggo-cravings. The other night, he got home from the gym and went right back out again when I started hinting at a desire for something sweet! He brought home wagon wheels and puffs cookies!!! That may sound gross to you, but to me, it was heaven (I think the source of the craving was a food network show that I had watched a few days prior on marshmallows...mmm...marshmallows!).

Darn it...now all I can think about is wagon wheels and puffs cookies...and I'm stuck at work, where I have access to neither of those delicious treats! Oh well...probably better that I not indulge today...I have an appointment with the midwife today where we'll get the results of the G-D test (fingers crossed!).

Off to enjoy a healthy (but still sweet, so partially satisfying) nectarine! Tomorrow's update will hopefully include some awesome 3D pics of Baby-Bean (fingers crossed that she cooperates tonight)!

Monday, August 9, 2010

Saving the environment...1 credit card charge at a time!

Warning -- this is a totally boring post...but I felt the need to vent my spending/shopping issues out...and I also wanted to keep track of my purchases!

I am seriously addicted to searching out and buying cloth diapers. Seriously addicted.

In the last week, I've bought:

(1) Diapers from the states (online) for newborns ("Kissaluvs" -- love the adorable names of all the cloth diapers!)...got a deal when buying in bulk, so I bought all of the diapers that we'll need for Baby-Bean when she's a newborn. The order also came with a deal on covers, so I got three of those as well. Had a mini-panic attack when I thought (after placing the order) about duty...until I did my research, and discovered that there would/should be no duty on diapers made in North America (which these ones are). Got 18 of these. The manufacturers suggest more, but our laundry is right across the hall from Baby-Bean's room...so I'm planning on doing a load of diapers per day. 18 should be fine (I hope). Otherwise Baby-Bean will have to get by with old tea towels with IGA bags as covers. :)

That was such fun (and my credit card enjoyed the workout so thoroughly) that I decided to go ahead and start buying the next size up.

(2) Diapers for post-newborn stage ("Fuzzibuns" -- again, such a cute name). Got all different (ADORABLE) colours in the "small" size. These things are so cute that Baby-Bean could just wear her diapers with a shirt, and she'd look adorable! Grannie (my mom) bought 4 adorable daisy print ones (different colours), and I bought another 12 in different (but equally adorable patterns and colours). Part of the problem (read: why I consider this to be an addiction) is that I've bought these 12 diapers from 3 different sources (1 physical store and 2 online orders). I'm addicted to finding the cutest patterns, for the best price, with no shipping charges. The reason I'm buying so much so quickly is that the manufacturer has just released new colours for 2010, which means that the "old" colours are now discounted. Yay deals! I'm sure Baby-Bean won't mind wearing last year's colours! :) Got 16 of these, total. Hoping that will be enough (again, this is well under the manufacturers' suggested numbers...but obviously the manufacturer has a hidden agenda!).

(3) Mixed in with the above orders, I've been adding some "medium" sized Fuzzibuns (these are meant to last until Baby-Bean is potty-trained...assuming she doesn't grow too big before that time, in which case, we may have to invest in some "large"...or revert to my tea towel in IGA bag idea noted above). I've limited those purchases to 7 total...but I'm sure I'll have topped up the collection by the end of the week (I'm a sucker for a deal!).

So all in all, I've spent a small fortune on cloth crap-catchers. You're welcome Earth. That is my 2010 "Act of Green". Now stop complaining when Prof-Man leaves all the lights in the house on! :)

Thursday, August 5, 2010

Ugh, that G-D Test!

Hee hee...when I mentioned on the weekend that I had to do the "G-D Test" this week, Prof Man thought that I was very annoyed with the prospect of the test and was avoiding using the Lord's name in vain! Made me giggle...

I had my "G-D Test" (Gestational Diabetes) today. They make you drink a disgusting sugary corn syrup-based drink and then sit around and wait for an hour (to metabolize the sugar) and then they do a blood test.

The test sucks for several reasons:

(1) You're supposed to avoid sugar beforehand. Seems easy enough, right? Not really (and it's not just because I've been having crazy sugar cravings lately)...it means no cereal for breakfast and no fruit of any kind (otherwise you'll likely test high and have to do the even more onerous follow-up G-D Test). I've been avoiding sugar in general for the last couple of days to try to make sure that I didn't end up with a false positive result. Apparently false positives are very common with this first stage G-D test. The result? You've got to do the same thing, only this time you have to both (a) fast beforehand, and (b) sit there for 3 hours! Boo. Really hoping to avoid that one. Okay, back to reasons that the first G-D test sucks!

(2) The drink is repulsive. You basically have to chug this sugar water as quickly as possible (can't remember what it was, but there's a time limit). It has basically no redeeming taste, except "sugary". I'm sure hummingbirds would love it...but pregnant ladies with weird senses of taste? Eww. My midwife told me that it would be an orange pop type drink (which I wasn't totally grossed out by)...but the lab recently switched to a new variety. "Clear flavourless sugar water" (okay that's not the name, but I'm not sure if you could invent a more creative name for this terrible concoction). I guess for some, the lack of flavour might be appealing...but for me, it just made me focus on the texture (syrupy) and generally sugary nature of the drink. Just gross.

(3) You can't walk around during your 1-hour waiting period. Apparently walking would allow you to metabolize the sugar too much, so you just have to sit and wait. Now I brought a book, but I still get antsy sitting for an hour in a crowded waiting room with a bunch of sickies. At least if you can walk, you can distract yourself. Instead, I read my book and took the odd break to people watch (unfortunately, no interesting stories resulted...boring people in the medical office today).

(4) The test makes you feel sort of preggo drunk. You get an odd sugar rush (or maybe that's just me)...then you're a little hyper and dizzy (and fancy yourself quite amusing -- as evidenced by my text messages to Prof-Man during the waiting period)...followed by that yucky sugar-induced crash afterwards. Doesn't seem like an appropriate thing to purposely inflict on oneself. I will say, however, that Red Dragon seemed to quite enjoy our little sugar roller coaster! She had her own private dance party! I pictured her doing the "hyper-hypo" scene from Saturday Night Live (for those of you who have been living under a rock...or don't like to stay up and watch TV on Saturday nights, it's the one with Mike Meyers and Nicole Kidman -- one of my absolute favorite SNL skits...just found it online -- here it is!).

If you don't think it's funny, that's fine...you clearly don't get my sense of humour (but I'm also a gal who laughed hysterically with her husband, along side the 10 year olds in the rest of the theatre, at the fart jokes in Scooby Doo!) :)



Anyhoo...after all that, I'm back at the office and have decided to treat myself to a free (from the lunch room) hot chocolate to celebrate being done! :) Nothing like sugar after my sugar tolerance test!

Wednesday, August 4, 2010

I missed my milestone! D'oh!

I'd been counting down to it, getting more and more excited...and somehow I got distracted and forgot that there are officially less than 100 days until my (expected) due date!!! Woo hoo!!!

Oddly, I have nothing interesting to say about the (sort of) milestone...except that I'm super excited to be a little bit closer to November 9th -- can't wait!

I've been in full on diaper purchase mode lately. We've now ordered (or received -- thanks Grannie!) all of the newborn diapers and many of the first step after newborn (just one size after that...and I've bought a few of those as well). I'm trying to space out these purchases because they're not as fun as clothes, and they are more pricey! I keep having to remind myself that the Earth is worth it (and that it's an up front cost for a long-term savings). But man, does that up-front cost sting!

Funny, spending that much on a swing or fancy chair or something doesn't even phase me. I think it's because non-diaper purchases are just more fun (and have less to do with icky runny baby poop!). Mmm...lovely thoughts...hope nobody was eating while reading this! :)

Tuesday, August 3, 2010

What's in a name?

Clearly, I'm having another unproductive day at work today...I've resorted to thinking about baby names, yet again (this has admitedly become a bit of an obsession). My most recent list is reproduced in the poll below...I thought I'd stick it up as a poll, because interaction is always fun! :) (Actually, it's because I'm bored and wanted to see if I could create a functioning poll!).

A word of caution: Please keep your negative comments/thoughts to yourself. Even if you absolutely HATE a name...may I suggest that you keep your comments positive (i.e. that's not my favorite name on the list). Why? Because Baby-Bean may read this blog someday...and if she ends up with the name that you publicly lambasted, she might not be very impressed...with you or me! :)

Which name do you prefer?
Addison
Arianna
Avery
Breanna
Emma
Kennedy
Mackenzie
Madelyn
Madison
Makayla
Natalia
Taylor
  
pollcode.com free polls


I'm finding the whole "choosing a name" thing quite stressful. I mean, this decision will be with Baby-Bean her whole life! Well...I suppose that's not necessarily the case...it might only be with her until she turns 18 and decides to get a legal name change to "Red Dragon" (aww...daddy's little girl!).

Seriously though...it kind of freaks me out...I grew up loving my name (if I could name Baby-Bean after myself without wanting to give myself a leg kick, I'd totally do it)...but I know tons of people who really didn't like their names. I'd hate for Baby-Bean to be one of those people.

Maybe we'll have a better idea after her 3D/4D ultrasound next week...